Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Need for Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 4 – Thursday, September 1, 2016

Read  and SOAP JEREMIAH 17:9 (ESV)wk1d4

9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick;    who can understand it?

O – The heart – the center of all our being.  It’s natural state, the “way we are” – is deceitful.  Deceitful above all things.  Desperately sick.  Desperately?  Yes.

My NIV study Bible took me to Psalm 4:7 – “You have filled my heart with greater joy than when their grain and new wine abound.”  But it is the note for that verse that makes sense:  “In Biblical language, the center of the human spirit, from which spring emotions, thoughts, motivations, courage and action – “the wellspring of life.”  (Prov. 4:23)

Proverbs 4:23 states, “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”    The link from this verse was to Matthew 12:34 and Mark 7:21.  “You brood of vipers! How can you speak good, when you are evil. For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.” (Matt. 12:34)   “For from within, out of the heart of man, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery,” (Mark 7:21)

Back to Jeremiah 17:9.   The Study Bible notes, “The prophet makes an observation, then asks a rhetorical question.  The “wellspring of life,” in which wickedness must not be allowed to take root (Ps. 4:7 and note) The Hebrew word for ‘deceitful’ is the basis of the name of Jacob, the deceiver).  “

A – What does all this mean – and what does it have to do with me, today?  We all think that we are inherently “good” people.  But, God states that we are deceitful – from the inside out.  Our hearts are deceitful – more than anything else.  We are desperately sick!  And, it is the way that we are.  It’s our natural state.  Deceitful and desperately sick.

But I also see the importance of the heart in ALL that we are:  it is the center of who we are.  It IS our “wellspring of life.”  And, whatever comes out of our mouth, and even whatever we do, flows from the outflow of our heart.  So – if my heart is evil, or not cleansed, it will produce evil, or wickedness, certainly not what God would desire!

So, it is important, no, crucial – that God create in me a clean heart.  I can’t do it on my own.  I can’t create my own clean heart.  Only HE can.  But it is MY decision to allow Him to work in my heart.

P – Father God, create in me a clean heart.  Search me, and try me.  See if there is any wicked way in me – and lead me in Your path.  Father, I turn my face TOWARDS You.  I turn FROM my sin.  Work in my heart, so that I desire what You desire.  Father , let Your love and mercy build and shape me. Break me, and recreate me in Your image.  May I be a new creation – that reflects not only Your image, but Your love and mercy towards others today.

We Will Run to You – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KU6iWnTzlNw

Verse 1

Create in me a clean heart, a clean heart

For I have turned my face from You

Teach us of Your ways oh God, oh God

For we have turned away from You

Lord have mercy

 

Chorus

We will run to you, we will run to you

Turning from our sin we return to You

Father heal your world, make all things new

Make all things new

 

Verse 2

Your love and mercy build and shape us

Break us and recreate us now

Lord have mercy

Bridge

Leave a Reply

