Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Need for Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 3 – Wednesday, August 31, 2016.

Read JOHN 8:31-34 (ESV)   SOAP v 34wk1d3

31 So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, 32 and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” 33 They answered him, “We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, ‘You will become free’?” 34 Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin.

O – Jesus’ words tell us that 1) IF we abide in His word, 2) THEN we are His disciples  3) THEN we will know the truth 4) and THEN the truth will set us fee.  But the first thing is abiding in Him and His word.  But his listeners, the Jews, didn’t quite understand.  They “weren’t slaves.”   “How then do we become free?”   They didn’t get it.  But Jesus told them – “Everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin.”   It enslaves us.  It keeps us.  In the NT, practice means “to do something habitually, routinely, continually, repeatedly.” (Pastor Greg Lex)  Yes – if we “practice” sin – we are a slave to it!

But, the answer is ABIDING in Christ –  “to continually obeying My teachings and living in accordance with them, then” (AMP)  It is hmmm….   “practicing” living in Him – to habitually, routinely, continually, and repeatedly – live in Him!  It is “making our home in – and with” Him!

A – Jesus isn’t talking about us sinning – He is talking about “making a practice of sinning.”  It is making a choice to sin.  It is making sinning a habit – a repeated action.  It is “being a slave” to sin.   And when we allow sin in our lives, and continue to live in it, we ARE slaves to it!  But, that is why Jesus came – to “set us free.”  To release us from sin’s power.  So that we aren’t slaves to sin.

Do I allow Jesus to free me from my sin?  Do I “continually obey His teachings and live in accordance with them?”  While I am more mature in my faith, and am more in His Word, I also realize that it is crucial to REMAIN in Him, so that I DON’T sin.  It is when I don’t spend that time, when I don’t ABIDE in Him, that I DO sin.  But it is also Christ’s power that KEEPS me FROM sin!  I just have to allow Him to work in – and through me.

P – Father God, thank You for sending Jesus to our world, to seek and save the lost, including me.  Thank You for this reminder of ABIDING in You.  Help me to continually obey Your Word, and live in accordance to it.  Father, may I not practice sin, but practice holiness.  May I grow to be more and more like You, and less and less like my old sin nature.  I don’t want to be a slave to sin, but Your child.

There is Power in the Name of Jesus (Break Every Chain)- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOyjD5Zw2ew

There is power in the name of Jesus
To Break every chain
All sufficient sacrifice
So freely given
Such a price
Bought our redemption
Heaven’s gates swing wide

There’s an army rising up
To break every chain

There is power in the name of Jesus
To break every chain

There is power in the name of Jesus
To Break every chain

Leave a Reply

