Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You are Forgiven – The Need for Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 1 – Monday, August 29, 2016.

Read  ISAIAH 59:1-5 (ESV) SOAP v. 2wk1d1

59 Behold, the Lord’s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save,  or his ear dull, that it cannot hear; 2 but your iniquities have made a separation between you and your God, and your sins have hidden his face from you  so that he does not hear. 3 For your hands are defiled with blood and your fingers with iniquity; your lips have spoken lies;   your tongue mutters wickedness. 4 No one enters suit justly;    no one goes to law honestly; they rely on empty pleas, they speak lies, they conceive mischief and give birth to iniquity. 5 They hatch adders’ eggs;  they weave the spider’s web; he who eats their eggs dies,    and from one that is crushed a viper is hatched.

O – The first day of “You are Forgiven.”  Oh, the state of man, of “us”, when we are left to our own ways.  Our sins are committed – just because we are who we are.  This passage tells of sins

  • What we do – hands defiled with blood, fingers with iniquity
  • What we say – lips spoken lies, tongue mutters wickedness
  • What our hearts convey – unjust, no one is honest, empty pleas, speaking lies, conceiving mischief, giving birth to iniquity

What is the result?  Our iniquities have made a separation between us and God, and our sins have hidden His face from us, so that he does not hear us.  BUT – God’s hand is not so short that it cannot save us – nor is it that He cannot hear.  It is our SIN.  It is US.  It is ME.  It is Sin.  My sin. That is what separates us, separates me, from God.  Not Him.  He didn’t separate Himself from us , or from me.  It is the result of our sin.  And, we ALL have sinned.  “For all have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God.”  (Romans 3:23)

In what way does sin separate us from God? Sin does not necessarily separate us from the presence of God, because God is present everywhere (Psalm 139:7) and even Satan can have an audience with God (Job 1:6). Sin does not separate us from the love of God, because God loves sinners (Romans 5:8). But sin still does separate.

– Sin separates us from fellowship with God, because at least at the point of our sin, we no longer think alike with God.

– Sin separates us from the blessing of God, because at least at the point of our sin, we are not trusting God and relying on Him.

– Sin separates us from some of the benefits of God’s love, even as the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-32) was still loved by the father, but didn’t enjoy the benefits of his love when he was in sin.

– Sin separates us, in some way, from the protection of God, because He will allow trials to come our way to correct us. (David Guzik – blueletterbible)

A – I know that when I have sinned, I have felt that separation from God.  There have been times that I have willfully sinned – I have known, and sinned anyway.  There have also been times that I have sinned, and been desensitized by previous sin.  There are also times that I have sinned by NOT doing something that I knew that I should do.  However, sin not only separates us from God, it separates us from others.  It redefines relationships with lack of trust, honesty, and integrity.

But, when I read the results of sin from David Guzik’s perspective, it touched me.  So many times, I have thought that my sin “wasn’t so bad.”  After all, I am a good person, “relatively honest,” and didn’t sin “the big sins” like murder, adultery, or stealing.  Well, that was what I thought when I was young.  But – did I realize that sin separated me from God?  That sin separated our fellowship, the blessings from Him, the benefits of His love, and from His protection?  Wow.

But, I also think that even today, the same could happen?  If I sin – those consequences still happen.  Maybe the sin isn’t as often, or as intended, or as willful, but I do sin.   It’s more of a heart matter, now.  But, I can see that the consequences are still there.   I think that is why we need to keep short accounts with God, and in close communion with Him, so that we DON’T sin, and when we do, we can be FORGIVEN.  It is all in the admitting of my sin, and asking Him for forgiveness.  And relationship is restored.

And, knowing this – it is SO important that I share this message with others – that God forgives.  That He restores. That He gives grace – grace that is greater than our sin.  It is grace that will pardon, that will cleanse, and that will restore.  And His grace is greater than all of our sin.  Hallelujah!

P – Father God, thank You for Your work in my life and in my heart.  Thank You for Your forgiveness.  And, thank You for a greater understanding today of what my sin does to US.  Our relationship.  Father, I desire Your fellowship, Your blessings, Your love, and Your protection.  I desire what You desire.  Father, help me to live a life that is worthy of You, and to confess my sin.  Cleanse my heart, and make it pure.  Check my attitude.  Put a guard on my lips.  Keep me from the things that would separate me from You.  And help me to share Your love with others, today.

Grace Greater Than Our Sins – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Je22nSpTZVQ

VERSE 1
Marvelous grace of our loving Lord,
Grace that exceeds our sin and our guilt,
Yonder on Calvary’s mount outpoured,
There where the blood of the Lamb was spilt

REFRAIN
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that will pardon and cleanse within
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that is greater than all our sin

VERSE 2
Dark is the stain that we cannot hide;
What can avail to wash it away?
Look! There is flowing a crimson tide;
Whiter than snow you may be today.

VERSE 3
Marvelous, infinite, matchless grace,
Freely bestowed on all who believe,
All who are longing to see His face,
Will you this moment His grace receive?

 

People Need the Lord – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uZcGaixMhg

Everyday they pass me by,
I can see it in their eyes.
Empty people filled with care,
Headed who knows where?

On they go through private pain,
Living fear to fear.
Laughter hides their silent cries,
Only Jesus hears.

People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.
People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
When will we realize, people need the Lord?

We are called to take His light
To a world where wrong seems right.
What could be too great a cost
For sharing Life with one who’s lost?

Through His love our hearts can feel
All the grief they bear.
They must hear the Words of Life
Only we can share.

People need the Lord, people need the Lord
At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.
People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
When will we realize that we must give our lives,
For peo-ple need the Lord.

People need the Lord.

Leave a Reply

