Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A Man of Faith – Day Five

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 5 – Read Heb. 10:19-25   SOAP v. 21-23      WK8D5

Every Promise of Your Word – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DpSIIiWkEM

19 Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, 20 by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, 21 and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, 25 not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

O – This passage starts out with a “therefore” and a “since”, leading to directives.   As my pastor back east used to say….. “God’s Let-Us Garden”.  J

THEREFORE – SINCE we have confidence (and full freedom) to enter the holy places by Jesus’ blood and SINCE we have a great high priest

  1. LET US draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, knowing that our hearts are sprinkled clean from evil conscience and our bodies washing with pure water (true and sincere heart in unqualified assurance of faith – AMP)
    1. We can come near to God in full assurance that He will accept us, because we have been cleansed and are now suitable to approach Him. It is both an inner (hearts) and outer (bodies) cleansing, ensuring readiness to enter the presence of God.  Maybe this is a reference to the concept in Psalm 24: 3 -5  “Who shall ascend the hill of the Lord? And who shall stand in his holy place?  He who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not lift up his soul to what is false and does not swear deceitfully.  He will receive blessing from the Lord and righteousness from the God of his salvation.”  We have access – because we are cleansed.   So – LET US draw near to God!
  2. LET US hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, because of God’s faithfulness (seize and hold tightly the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is reliable and trustworthy and faithful [to His word] – AMP)
    1. We can cling to God’s promises because He is faithful. He has been faithful in the past.  It is His NATURE and CHARACTER to be faithful.  Lamentations 3:21-23 says, “But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
      “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”  HE IS FAITHFUL!
  3. LET US consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, and encouraging one another (let us consider [thoughtfully] how we may encourage one another to love and  to do good deeds, 25 not forsaking our meeting together [as believers for worship and instruction], as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more [faithfully] as you see the day [of Christ’s return] approaching. – AMP)
    1. We can encourage and build each other up in our Christian lives. We need encouragement.  We need the Body.  We need to be instructed.  We need to worship.  As days get difficult, we need this more and more – even in the times that we don’t “feel” like it.  We NEED each other!

A – How should I live out my faith?   I see three things here:

  1. To keep close to God. To draw near to Him in faith.  To spend time with Him in His Word and prayer.  To meditate on Scripture and keep it in my heart.  To make my thoughts center on Him, instead of myself.
  2. To cling to His promises. To remember that HE IS faithful.  T keep reminders of this around, for times that my mind or heart are challenged.  (Ebenezer!)
  3. To encourage others to live out their faith as well. To be an integral part of the Body of Christ.  To be “present”.  To  live out my faith in such a way that others are encouraged and built up.

P – Father God, thank You that I have access to You through the blood of Jesus.  I confess that I don’t always approach You.  There are so many times that I seize the moment, and run with it my own way.  Father, teach me to come to You – all the time.  You have provided access – and desire my presence.  Thank You for Your faithfulness.  I can cling to Your promises, because of Your faithfulness, not only to me, but in Your word, and to others as well.  And Father, thank You for the Body of Christ, both in Avon and Easton, and in this faith community online.  You have used all of these to build me up, and encourage me.  Help me to encourage others through Your Word, and through examples of Your faithfulness in my life.  I WILL STAND on every promise of Your Word.  Amen.

What is holding you back from living your life out in faith like David? What doubts keep you up at night? Share them with God.

Every Promise of Your Word – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DpSIIiWkEM

“From the breaking of the dawn to the setting of the sun,
I will stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
Words of power, strong to save, that will never pass away,
I will stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
For Your covenant is sure,
And on this I am secure—
I can stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.

When I stumble and I sin, condemnation pressing in,
I will stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
You are faithful to forgive that in freedom I might live,
So I stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
Guilt to innocence restored,
You remember sins no more—
So I’ll stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.

When I’m faced with anguished choice, I will listen for Your voice,
And I’ll stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
Through this dark and troubled land
You will guide me with Your hand
As I stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
And You’ve promised to complete
Ev’ry work begun in me—
So I’ll stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.

Hope that lifts me from despair, love that casts out ev’ry fear,
As I stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
Not forsaken, not alone, for the Comforter has come,
And I stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.
Grace sufficient, grace for me,
Grace for all who will believe—
We will stand on ev’ry promise of Your Word.”

— WORDS AND MUSIC BY KEITH GETTY & STUART TOWNEND

Leave a Reply

