Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A Man of Faith – Day Two

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 2 – Read Psalm 27   SOAP Psalm 27:1WK8D2

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? 2 When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall. 3 Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident. 4 One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple. 5 For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;  he will lift me high upon a rock. 6 And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me, and I will offer in his tent sacrifices with shouts of joy; I will sing and make melody to the Lord. 7 Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me! 8 You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, Lord, do I seek.” 9     Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away in anger, O you who have been my help. Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation! 10 For my father and my mother have forsaken me, but the  Lord will take me in. 11 Teach me your way, O Lord, and lead me on a level path because of my enemies. 12 Give me not up to the will of my adversaries; for false witnesses have risen against me, and they breathe out violence. 13 I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! 14 Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!

O – What roles did faith and fear play in David’s life?   David wrote psalms that described his emotions AND his trust in God.  They were written in times of distress, times of loneliness, times of worship, times of exaltation, all the times that WE experience.  He has tremendous honesty in his writings.  Yet, through them all, he shows a trust in God.  This psalm runs the gamut of emotions – yet the strong trust that David had in his God.  My notes are from the ESV….

  • 1 – Whom shall I fear? The declaration is:  “The Lord is my light and my salvation”
    whom shall I fear?
  • 1 – Of whom shall I be afraid? The declaration is:  “The LORD is the stronghold of my life.  (Whom shall I dread? – AMP)
  • 3 – Whatever happens to me, or around me, “Yet will I be confident.” Whether it was surrounded by enemies, war around him, the wicked against him – David expressed his confidence in the Lord, despite the circumstances.  (EVEN IN THIS I am confident – AMP)
  • 4 – David knew where he needed to be, and in which posture. ONE THING.  What did he want?  What was his heart’s desire?  “To dwell in the house of the LORD… to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD, to inquire in His temple.”  (To dwell [in His presence], to gaze upon the beauty [the delightful loveliness and majestic grandeur] of the LORD and to meditate in His temple. – AMP)  Time with Him.  Thinking of Him.  Not necessarily what He has done, but WHO HE IS.
  • 5 – David knew what God would do. He spoke with certainty.  “He WILL HIDE me… He WILL CONCEAL me…. He WILL LIFT me.”  In the days of trouble, David had confidence of God’s presence and declared it – with faith.
  • 6 – David’s response to God’s help? I WILL OFFER sacrifices with shouts of JOY…. I will SING and make melody.”  Praise for His presence.
  • 7 – David also knew that God heard him when he cried out to Him.
  • 8 – David responded to God’s commands.  God said, “Seek My face.”  David’s heart led in that seeking.  He responded.  With his heart.
  • 9 – David wanted God’s presence. He craved it.  He asked for God to be there, to NOT turn away, as God HAS BEEN his help in the past.
  • 10 – Regardless of who left him, David knew that God was present. He claimed what we know to be true.  “I will never leave or forsake you.”  (Deut. 31J
  • 11 – David’s heart was “teachable.” “Teach me Your way, O LORD.”
  • 13 – David claimed in CONFIDENCE that God would deliver. “I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.”
  • 14 – David knew that it was God’s timing, not his. “Wait for the Lord.”  To be strong.  To take courage.  To let his HEART take courage  and wait.  (Wait for and CONFIDENTLY EXPECT the LORD. AMP)  To wait.  To confidently expect.  To CONFIDENTLY expect.  To confidently EXPECT.  To KNOW that God WILL WORK!

 

A – How do I apply this to MY life?

  • I need to DECLARE my trust in Him. Speak it out.  Speak it to others.  Encourage them with a declaration of trust.  “The Lord is….   Why should I fear?”
  • My heart needs to state “EVEN IN THIS, I am confident…..” Whatever the circumstances.    Health.  Relationships.  Loneliness.  Stress.  War.  Enemies.  EVEN IN THIS.  Whatever.  EVEN IF.
  • Do I spend time meditating of WHO GOD IS…. Or do I continually ask Him for what I need or want? David’s ONE THING was to worship, to contemplate, to meditate.  Not ask.  It was all about HIM.

What roles did faith and fear play in David’s life?

Whom Shall I Fear? – Lincoln Brewster and Kari Jobe – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCevnb2bcQI

Because I know You live
I’ll put my faith in this
That You hear my call
Lord, You hear me calling

Because I know You live
I’ll set my heart on this
You won’t let me fall
When all else is falling

When all You are is glorious, oh God
Victorious and strong
Whom shall I fear?
When all You are is powerful and true
And good in all You do
Whom shall I fear? Whom shall I fear?

Because You’re on my side
I won’t believe the lie
That I’m all alone
I’m not all alone here

Because You live in me
My heart will still believe
That You came to save
And You’ll come to save me

I know You’re with me in the fire
You never leave me in the flame
I know Your thoughts are so much higher
And all Your ways are not my ways

When all You are is glorious, oh God
Victorious and strong
Whom shall I fear?
When all You are is powerful and true
And good in all You do
Whom shall I fear? Whom shall I fear?

I know You’re with me in the fire
You never leave me in the flame
I know Your thoughts are so much higher
And all Your ways are not my ways

When all You are is glorious, oh God
Victorious and strong
Whom shall I fear?
When all You are is powerful and true
And good in all You do
Whom shall I fear?

You are for me
You came to save me
You will never let me go
In my heart I’ll always know
I know that You are for me

You came to save me
You will never let me go
In my heart I’ll always know
I know that You are for me

I know that You are for me
I know that you will
Never forsake me in my weakness
I know that You have come now
Even if to write upon my heart
To remind me who You

Leave a Reply

