Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A man of faith – Day One

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 1 – I Samuel 17:33-47 – SOAP v. 45WK8D1

1 SAMUEL 17:33-47 (ESV) 33 And Saul said to David, “You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him, for you are but a youth, and he has been a man of war from his youth.” 34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant used to keep sheep for his father. And when there came a lion, or a bear, and took a lamb from the flock, 35 I went after him and struck him and delivered it out of his mouth. And if he arose against me, I caught him by his beard and struck him and killed him. 36 Your servant has struck down both lions and bears, and this uncircumcised Philistine shall be like one of them, for he has defied the armies of the living God.” 37 And David said, “The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you!” 38 Then Saul clothed David with his armor. He put a helmet of bronze on his head and clothed him with a coat of mail, 39 and David strapped his sword over his armor. And he tried in vain to go, for he had not tested them. Then David said to Saul, “I cannot go with these, for I have not tested them.” So David put them off. 40 Then he took his staff in his hand and chose five smooth stones from the brook and put them in his shepherd’s pouch. His sling was in his hand, and he approached the Philistine. 41 And the Philistine moved forward and came near to David, with his shield-bearer in front of him. 42 And when the Philistine looked and saw David, he disdained him, for he was but a youth, ruddy and handsome in appearance. 43 And the Philistine said to David, “Am I a dog, that you come to me with sticks?” And the Philistine cursed David by his gods. 44 The Philistine said to David, “Come to me, and I will give your flesh to the birds of the air and to the beasts of the field.” 45 Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the Lord will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you down and cut off your head. And I will give the dead bodies of the host of the Philistines this day to the birds of the air and to the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel, 47 and that all this assembly may know that the Lord saves not with sword and spear. For the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give you into our hand.”

O – David’s faith In God was the determining factor in his victory over Goliath. Why?
• He recalled God’s faithfulness in victory in the past. (v. 37) “The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear WILL DELIVER ME from the hand of this Philistine.” God, who was faithful in the past, would continue to be. David recognized the source of his victory.
• David recognized why Goliath had to be conquered. (v. 36) “This uncircumcised Philistine shall be like one of them, for HE HAS DEFIED the armies of the living God.” It wasn’t that Goliath was an enemy; he was an enemy of God. He defied the armies of the living God.
• David went in the protection of the Lord Himself, not man-made instruments of protection. He refused Saul’s armor, as it was not “tested.” It probably was too big, too bulky, too restrictive. But David used the tools that God had helped him use in the past – a slingshot and stones.
• David knew where his strength came from. (v. 45) “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.” It wasn’t the weapons that he used, but the NAME OF THE LORD. God was His weapon. Not any tool of man. Not himself. But, God Himself.
• David knew the reason WHY the Philistine had to be conquered. (v. 46). “That all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel.” There was a reason bigger than the conquering of an enemy. The greater purpose was proclaiming God’s name.
• David knew that it wasn’t HIS victory. It was God’s. (v. 47) “For the battle is the LORD’s, and HE will give you into our hand.” The battle is the Lord’s.

A – How can David’s faith be an example for me today?
• I need to recall God’s victory and faithfulness in MY past. I have seen Him provide in many circumstances, whether food, money, a job, ministry opportunities, strength for difficulties. He IS faithful! I need to recall those times, and VOICE them aloud! HE is the source of any victory in my life! I proclaim it so.
• When I see someone defying God, I need to be aware, and either take my distance, or conquer it. If Satan is attacking, declare it so, and VOICE his demise. Satan will NOT win in the end. Nor can he win any battle in my life! He defies my God – therefore he is my enemy.
• I go in God’s protection, not protection made by myself. God’s Word – my Bible, stored in my heart, is something that God has used in my life in the past, and He will continue to use it. It can be my protection, my shield, my standing tower of strength. But, only if I use it!
• I have to recognize where my strength comes from. My strength comes from the Lord of hosts. Not my own efforts.
• The greater purpose in victory over temptation, victory over Satan, victory over His enemies is declaring and proclaiming God’s name.
• The victory is the Lord’s. Not mine. Even if it looks like “mine.” It is HIS. The battle is the LORD’S!

God used a young man, who everyone thought would fail, five stones, and a slingshot to defeat the greatest enemy of Israel. Why? So all would know that “the battle is the LORD’S.” What will God use in MY hands today to declare that He is GOD?

P – Father God, place in my hands Your tools, and in my life Your victory. Father, may what I do, what I say, be in Your power, not mine. I go in Your protection. I go in Your name. I go in Your strength. Go before me – so I can proclaim that the battle and victory is Yours – and Yours alone. Amen.

What do you admire most about David’s faith?

“Whom Shall I Fear (God Of Angel Armies)” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOkImV2cJDg

You hear me when I call
You are my morning song
Though darkness fills the night
It cannot hide the light

Whom shall I fear

You crush the enemy
Underneath my feet
You are my sword and shield
Though troubles linger still

Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

My strength is in Your name
For You alone can save
You will deliver me
Yours is the victory

Whom shall I fear
Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

And nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in Your hands
I’m holding on to Your promises

You are faithful
You are faithful

And nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in Your hands
I’m holding on to Your promises

You are faithful
You are faithful
You are faithful

Leave a Reply

