Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A Man after God’s Heart

Leave a comment

Week Seven – Day 4 – Read Matthew 10:29-31 SOAP Matthew 10:29-31WK7D4

His Eye is on the Sparrow – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bn3ZfpjfPBM

MATTHEW 10:29-31 (ESV) 29 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. 30 But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

O – This passage from Matthew reiterates HOW MUCH God loves me. Sparrows are tiny little birds, hardly worth noticing for people. Yet – God knows their flight – even when they fall to the ground. Even the hairs of my head are numbered (and I lose a lot in the brush every time I brush!) YET – God considers me of more value than the sparrows, and He knows ALL about me – even to the changing number of hairs on my head.

The IVP Commentary says Jesus assures his disciples that they can trust God’s sovereignty in their protection or their death. Sparrows were the cheapest commodity sold in the markets (as food for the poor); an assarion was a small coin (one-sixteenth of a denarius, thus equivalent to less than an hour’s wage; compare 5:26; Wheaton 1982:792). Yet as worthless as sparrows were to people, God watched over them. Jewish teachers agreed that God was sovereign over each bird’s fate (Pes. Rab Kah. 11:16; Gen. Rab. 79:6; Eccl. Rab. 10:8, 1). “How much more” (following a standard line of Jewish reasoning) may we therefore be assured that nothing happens to us when God is “not looking” (Ps 121:4; compare 1 Kings 18:27-29). This teaching fits the biblical perspective of a God sovereign over history, who knows every hair on our heads (compare Acts 27:34; 1 Sam 14:45; 2 Sam 14:11; 1 Kings 1:52).

A – If God knows about the sparrows, and the hairs on my head (such minute details…), HOW MUCH MORE does He care about the bigger details of my life? What ministry does He have for me? What does the future hold for Paul and I? What steps does He want us to take together? So much MORE than the hair on my head…. YET, God is concerned about those minute details. He says, in Jeremiah 29:11-13 – “ For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” (ESV) He has a plan – for me. His plans are for my welfare and NOT for evil – for me! He has a future and a hope – for me! He hears me. I will find Him when I seek Him – with my WHOLE HEART. There it is again. The heart. The central part of me. In order to find Him, to have His best plans, to have His best – I need to seek Him with ALL my HEART. My whole heart. THAT is how to be a woman after God’s own heart – to seek Him with all of mine.

P – Oh, Father God, may I seek You with all my heart. May I be a woman after Your own heart. Help me to keep my eyes on You – in whatever I do. Father, I give You all the details of my life. I see how You have worked them out in me – for my good. Help me keep releasing them to You. Amen.

His Eye is on the Sparrow – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bn3ZfpjfPBM

Why should I feel discouraged and why should the shadows come?
Why should my heart be lonely and long for heaven and home?
When Jesus is my portion, a constant Friend is He,
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.

I sing because I’m happy;
I sing because I’m free;
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me.

Let not your heart be troubled; these tender words I hear;
And resting on his goodness I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth but one step I may see;
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.

I sing because I’m happy;
I sing because I’m free;
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me.

Whenever I am tempted; whenever clouds arise;
When songs give place to sighing; when hope within me dies;
I draw the closer to Him; from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.

I sing because I’m happy;
I sing because I’m free;
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me…

Leave a Reply

