Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A man after God’s Heart

Leave a comment

Week Seven – Day 3 – Read Matthew 17: 1- 7 SOAP Matthew 17:5 – JESUS BELOVED OF GODWK7D3

This is My Beloved Son – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpT0YFJEs6Y

MATTHEW 17:1-7 (ESV) 17 And after six days Jesus took with him Peter and James, and John his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. 2 And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light. 3 And behold, there appeared to them Moses and Elijah, talking with him. 4 And Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, it is good that we are here. If you wish, I will make three tents here, one for you and one for Moses and one for Elijah.” 5 He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” 6 When the disciples heard this, they fell on their faces and were terrified. 7 But Jesus came and touched them, saying, “Rise, and have no fear.”

O – Peter, James, and John were witnesses to the revelation of Jesus’ glory, and the declaration of His father – “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to Him.” Jesus was transfigured (shown in all His glory), and was in company with Moses and Elijah . Peter was so overwhelmed that he just wanted to stay there – with shelters made for Jesus, Moses, and Elijah. “Let’s just stay here on this high and enjoy it…” , he must have thought. It is interesting that this occurred soon after Jesus had told his disciples that he would be killed and raised from the dead on the third day. (Matt. 16:21 – 23)

It is also interesting to note that God spoke these words over Jesus on the occasion of His baptism by John (Matthew 3:17) He claimed Jesus as His Son, that He loved Him, and that He was “well pleased” with Him. Also, in this version, to “listen to Him.”

God also tells ME who I am , that He loves me, and that I can please Him.
• John 1:12 – “But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God,”
• Jeremiah 31:3 – I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.
• I Thessalonians 4:1 – Finally, then, brothers,[a] we ask and urge you in the Lord Jesus, that as you received from us how you ought to walk and to please God, just as you are doing, that you do so more and more.

A – Two things today:
• Jesus is God’s Son. God declared it. He spoke words of love to Him and about Him. “I love…. I am pleased….” We are also told to “listen to Him,” or obey Him.
• But I also see that I am God’s child. God declared it. “He gave the right to become children of God.” He speaks words of love to me and about me. “I have loved you with an everlasting love….” “For God SO LOVED the world…” But He also wants me to love Him back and please Him.

P – Father God, thank You for Your words of love and encouragement to Your children. To Jesus Christ. To me. To all Your children. Father, thank You for making me a part of Your family. Help me to live today in a way that pleases You.

In Matthew 17:5 we see the importance of speaking words of love and encouragement over others. How did God describe Jesus and what did He tell the people to do?

This is My Beloved Son – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpT0YFJEs6Y
This is my beloved son
Who tasted death
That you, my child, might live
See the blood He shed for You
What suffering
Say what more could He give
Clothed in His perfection
Bring praise, a fragrance sweet
Garlanded with joy
Come worship at His feet

That the Lamb who was slain
Might receive the reward
Might receive the reward of His suffering

Look, the world’s great harvest fields
Are ready now
And Christ commands us: ‘Go!’
Countless souls are dying
So hopelessly
His wondrous love unknown
Lord, give us the nations
For the glory of the King
Father, send more labourers
The lost to gather in

Come the day when we will stand
There face to face
What joy will fill His eyes
For at last His Bride appears
So beautiful
Her glory fills the skies
Drawn from every nation
People, tribe and tongue
All creation sings
The wedding has begun

And the Lamb who was slain
Shall receive the reward
Shall receive the reward of His suffering

Graham Kendrick

Leave a Reply

