Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A man after God’s heart – Day Two

Leave a comment

Week Seven – Day 2 – Read1 SAMUEL 13: 8-15 SOAP I Samuel 13:14WK7D2

I want to be a man after God’s own heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Db0gPS8M9Jw

(ESV) 8 He waited seven days, the time appointed by Samuel. But Samuel did not come to Gilgal, and the people were scattering from him. 9 So Saul said, “Bring the burnt offering here to me, and the peace offerings.” And he offered the burnt offering. 10 As soon as he had finished offering the burnt offering, behold, Samuel came. And Saul went out to meet him and greet him. 11 Samuel said, “What have you done?” And Saul said, “When I saw that the people were scattering from me, and that you did not come within the days appointed, and that the Philistines had mustered at Michmash, 12 I said, ‘Now the Philistines will come down against me at Gilgal, and I have not sought the favor of the Lord.’ So I forced myself, and offered the burnt offering.” 13 And Samuel said to Saul, “You have done foolishly. You have not kept the command of the Lord your God, with which he commanded you. For then the Lord would have established your kingdom over Israel forever. 14 But now your kingdom shall not continue. The Lord has sought out a man after his own heart, and the Lord has commanded him to be prince[a] over his people, because you have not kept what the Lord commanded you.” 15 And Samuel arose and went up from Gilgal. The rest of the people went up after Saul to meet the army; they went up from Gilgal[b] to Gibeah of Benjamin. And Saul numbered the people who were present with him, about six hundred men.

O – OH, what happens when we rush ahead of God! Saul did not want to wait for God’s timing for Samuel to come and offer up the sacrifice (which only the priests could do…), so did it himself. “You did not come at the set time…. So I felt compelled to offer the burnt offering…” (I Sam. 13:11,12 – NIV) Hmmm…. You didn’t come, so I…. Excuses. Blame. Impatience. And so….. Saul was told that his kingdom would come to an end. And God had chosen another. “The Lord has sought out a man after his own heart…. BECAUSE…” (v. 14)

My NIV study Bible notes “The foolish and sinful aspect of Saul’s act was that he thought he could strengthen Israel’s changes against the Philistines while disregarding the instruction of the Lord’s prophet Samuel. …. In disobeying Samuel’s instruction, Saul violated a fundamental requirement of his theocratic office. “

The consequences? God would use another to fit His purposes. The throne would go to another. The kingdom of Saul would come to an end. Saul was told that God would have another, “a man after His own heart…. BECAUSE you have not kept what the Lord commanded you.” In other words, God said, “Because you CHOSE to disobey, I CHOOSE another to use.”

A – This incident, this consequence resonates within my soul. My heart question today is, “Will God choose to use another in MY place, because of my disobedience?” What consequences! It would be so horrible to have God tell me that He chose another because of my disobedience. What a lesson for me today. But, that is what God told Saul, though Samuel.

I want to be a woman after God’s own heart. I want Him to use me for what He sees fit. This requires my obedience. I can’t choose to disobey, and obey at the same time! I can’t chose MY way over HIS way. It must be HIS way – all the way. Not mine. I cannot “help God out” with my own choices. I can’t rush His plan. I can’t.

P – Oh Lord, how many times have I rushed You, because I couldn’t wait? How many times did I “help You out” working out YOUR perfect plan? Forgive me for my disobedience. Forgive my impatience. Forgive my foolishness in trying to help the Almighty God. Father, give me the patience I need in waiting for You to work, perfectly, in Your way. Father, I want to be a woman after Your own heart. Work in my heart, so it lines up with Yours. Give me Your desires. Give me Your loves. Give me Your best, for me. I give me, to You. Amen.

What was the consequence of Saul’s disobedience?
I want to be a man after God’s own heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Db0gPS8M9Jw

VERSE 1
I started on my journey not seeking wealth or fame.
The only thing I want in life is to bear His Holy Name.
I’ve had my share of problems,
Had trials along the way.
But when the mountain looks too high,
This is what I pray…
CHORUS
I want to be a man after God’s own heart.
I want to be a man after God’s own heart.
I might stumble, I might fall,
But I’ll get back up and heed the call
To be a man after God’s own heart.
VERSE 2
Some don’t understand me, they criticize my ways.
But if they’d look inside my heart,
They’d find something else to say,
I’m not the man with the crown of thorns,
No nail prints in my hands.
I’m just a man with a real desire to be all that I can.

Leave a Reply

