Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – A man after God’s heart – Day one

Leave a comment

Week Seven – Day 1 – Read ACTS 13:22 (ESV) WK7D1

Man After Your Own Heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jw_jBfo1pcM

And when he had removed him, he raised up David to be their king, of whom he testified and said, ‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.’

O – Paul described David as a “man after my own heart,” as he was telling the history of Israel at the synagogue in Antioch. This was actually a description given in I Samuel 13:14, which Samuel told to Saul the present king. Since Saul did not keep God’s commands, his kingdom would come to an end. Therefore, God “sought out a man after his own heart” , and appointed him as the next leader of Israel. Paul used this description to tell the story of Saul and David, along with the history of Israel.

A – David was not perfect. He sinned. Oh, did he sin. His sin affected his life, the life of one of his own soldiers, the life of his wife, and even the whole of his household. Yet, he was a known as “a man after God’s own heart.” What made David’s life this kind of example for us?

We sin. Oh, do we sin. Yet, we, too, can be known as a man (or a woman) after God’s own heart. It is within the relationship with our God that we can do this. It is the state of our heart. Last week, my pastor gave an example of discipleship. It is the difference between sinning and the “practice” of sinning. Practice is something that we do “habitually, routinely, continually, repeatedly.” Romans 6:1 (AMP) says, “What shall we say [to all this]? Should we continue in sin and practice sin as a habit so that [God’s gift of] grace may increase and overflow?” It is the PRACTICE of sin that affects our heart. It is in the denial of sinning that our hearts begin to harden towards our God. BUT, it is in the confessing and God’s forgiveness of sin that we begin to seek His heart, and become more like Him. Yes, we sin. But our confessing and forgiveness are steps that bring us to a state of grace. No, we don’t sin, sin, sin, and confess – in order to continue getting God’s grace. It is God’s grace that restores us, and we need to “count ourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. Therefore, do not let sin REIGN in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires.” (Romans 6:11,12 NIV)

In order to be a woman after God’s own heart, I need to stop any PRACTICE of sin, and to live in His grace and forgiveness, growing in maturity, and in closeness to Him. It is not being “sinless”, but less sinful. It is not living for pleasure, but to please Him. It is not being perfect, but being perfectly forgiven.

P – Father God, thank You for Your forgiveness. Thank You for restoring my relationship with You. Father, I have sinned; thank You for Your forgiveness. Help me, now, to live in relationship with You, perfectly forgiven. May I be a woman after Your own heart. May those around me see You living in me, on the throne of my life, and in my heart. Amen.

Describe David in one word. – REAL

Man After Your Own Heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jw_jBfo1pcM

O God, Father in heaven and earth
I call to You like deep calls to deep over water
Show me Your endless measure of grace
Let tender mercies shine once again
From Your holy face

Deep in my soul there’s a craving
To please the One who has saved me
O God, though I have fallen so far
You know that I’m still
A man after Your own heart

I am driven by rivers of pride
You are my rescue
The Maker and Keeper of my life
Lead me by the still waters again
Use me in spite of the prodigal child
That You know I am

Just as a deer runs to water
So does my soul to You, Father
O God, though I have wandered so far
You know that I’m still
A man after Your own heart

I’m still a man after Your own heart

Leave a Reply

