Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the sinner – Day Five

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 5 – Read Acts 3:19WK6D5

I Repent – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vw71-oDK4M

ACTS 3:19 (ESV) 9 Repent therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out.

Acts 3:19 (AMP) – So repent [change your inner self—your old way of thinking, regret past sins] and return [to God—seek His purpose for your life], so that your sins may be wiped away [blotted out, completely erased], so that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord [restoring you like a cool wind on a hot day];

O – Paul is talking with the people in the temple, after healing the crippled beggar. He gives a short history of the Jews’ treatment of Jesus, saying that all that happened was part of fulfilled prophecy. THEREFORE – “repent, therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.” Repenting is a “turn around” – like a 180 degree turn. It is a decision, a change of mind, and is like unto being sorry and grieved for our sin, not just sorry that we have been “caught” in our sin. I love the wording in the Amplified Version: to repent is “change your inner self – your old way of thinking, regret past sins” and return “to God – seek His purpose for your life” SO THAT your sins may be wiped away “blotted out, completely erased” SO THAT times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord “restoring you like a cool wind on a hot day”. I also loved the explanation of David Guzik’s commentary on blueletterbible – that blotting out was completely removing ink. In ancient days, ink did not have acid, so paper did not absorb the ink readily. So – blotting out ink was completely removing traces of ink on a page. THAT is what God does – completely removes our sin, removing the evidence and “trace pieces” of our sin.

a. Repent therefore: As he did in his first sermon (Acts 2:38), Peter calls upon the crowd to repent. He is telling them to turn around in their thinking and actions.
i. Repentance does not describe being sorry, but describes the act of turning around. And as he used it in chapter two, here also Peter makes repent a word of hope. You have done wrong, but you can turn around to get it right with God!
b. And be converted: Conversion is a work God does in us. Being a Christian is not “turning over a new leaf,” it is being a new creation in Christ Jesus(2 Corinthians 5:17).
c. Blotted out has the idea of wiping ink off of a document. Ink in the ancient world had no acid content and didn’t “bite” into the paper. It could almost always be wiped off with a damp cloth. Peter is saying that God will wipe away our record of sin just like that! (David Guzik – blueletterbible)

A – I know that repenting is turning from sin – and going in the opposite direction. But it is so easy to turn back again! Sometimes I find myself in a “half-turn”, and need to catch myself and redirect. Most of that time, it is a heart-attitude. As I have matured as a believer, it is not the “big” things that get me, but attitudes and unspoken thoughts. It is my inner life. But, God sees in my heart, and knows that if I think it, I’ve “committed it.” (see Matt. 5:28) So, for me, it is keeping short accounts with Him, and acknowledging the presence and working of the Holy Spirit within me. It is allowing Him to prick my conscience, and acting on that. It is being aware of my inner thoughts and attitudes – and dealing with them, confessing them, and turning from them. Right away.

P – Father God, thank You for Your forgiveness. Thank You for helping me to see that in my attitudes, I still sin. Forgive me for my selfish pride. Forgive me for my “righteousness” in myself. My only righteousness in found in YOU. Father, may Your Holy Spirit dwell in me, work in me, and guide me each moment of the day. Father, today may I be the bestower of Your grace and mercy to those around me. And, may my heart be pure and reflect Your love and forgiveness at work in my life.
In what areas of your life do you need to experience God’s forgiveness?

Write down the sins for which you need to ask God’s forgiveness. Then take time to repent and seek the refreshing of your soul that is talked about in Acts 3:19.

I Repent – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vw71-oDK4M

I regret the hours I have wasted and the pleasures I have tasted that you were never in.
And I confess that though your love is in me, it doesn’t always win me when competing with my sin.

CHORUS
And I repent, making no excuses. I repent no one else to blame.
And I return to fall in love with Jesus. I bow down on my knees and I repent.

I lament the idols I’ve accepted, the commandments I’ve rejected to pursue my selfish end.
And I confess I need you to revive me, put selfishness behind me and take up my cross again.
And I return to fall in love with Jesus. I bow down on my knees and I repent.

Leave a Reply

