Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Sinner – Day Four

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 4 – Read Genesis 8:21, I John 2:8-9 SOAP I John 1:8-9WK6D4

Jesus what a Friend of Sinners – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t24uLvayvsM

GENESIS 8:21 (ESV) 21 And when the Lord smelled the pleasing aroma, the Lord said in his heart, “I will never again curse the ground because of man, for the intention of man’s heart is evil from his youth. Neither will I ever again strike down every living creature as I have done.

1 JOHN 1:8-9 (ESV) 8 If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

In Matthew 11:19, Jesus is described as “a friend of sinners.” What comfort does that give you as you read 1 John 1:8-9?

O – God, in His mercy, made a decision in regards to sin, our sin, my sin. When He saw Noah’s sacrifice after the flood, He determined to not curse the ground or to destroy every creature. He knew that man is sinful. But, He provided a way out of our sins – through His Son, Jesus Christ. He said that if we confess our sins – He is FAITHFUL and JUST – and will forgive. He is faithful, as He keeps His word. He is just, as He deals with sin – as sin.

It is interesting to note that my Bible notes (NIV study Bible) that “Because of humanity’s extreme wickedness, God had destroyed them (6:7) by means of a flood (6:17). Although righteous Noah and his family had been saved, he and his offspring were descendant of Adam and carried in their hearts the inheritance of sin. “ That sin has been carried down through the generations – to me! I also found this in the note for I John 1:9 – “(faithful and just) – It indicates that God’s response toward those who confess their sins will be in accordance with his nature and his gracious commitment to His people.”

A – Jesus, the friend of sinners. I KNOW that I am a sinner – because of my sin nature, and the sins that I have committed. But – I am also a forgiven sinner – God has promised to forgive my sins IF I confess them. Jesus was noted as a friend of sinners. He ate with them. He spent time with them. He died for them. He died for me, as well. What a blessing to know that HE is my friend – my Savior. I am forgiven. I am a friend of Jesus.

P – Father, help me today to live as a forgiven loved one. Thank You for Your promise of forgiveness and salvation. Help me to extend that same love to others that I meet today. As You have loved and forgiven me, help me do the same to others. Amen.

Jesus what a Friend of Sinners – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t24uLvayvsM

Jesus! what a Friend for sinners!
Jesus! Lover of my soul;
Friends may fail me, foes assail me,
He, my Savior, makes me whole.
Refrain

Hallelujah! what a Savior!
Hallelujah! what a Friend!
Saving, helping, keeping, loving,
He is with me to the end.

Jesus! what a Strength in weakness!
Let me hide myself in Him.
Tempted, tried, and sometimes failing,
He, my Strength, my victory wins.
Refrain

Jesus! what a Help in sorrow!
While the billows over me roll,
Even when my heart is breaking,
He, my Comfort, helps my soul.
Refrain

Jesus! what a Guide and Keeper!
While the tempest still is high,
Storms about me, night overtakes me,
He, my Pilot, hears my cry.
Refrain

Jesus! I do now receive Him,
[or Jesus! I do now adore Him,]
More than all in Him I find.
He hath granted me forgiveness,
I am His, and He is mine.
Refrain

Leave a Reply

