Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Sinner – Day Two

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 2 – Read 2 SAMUEL 12:1–15   SOAP II Samuel 12: 13-15WK6D2

What was David’s response to God after his sin was exposed?

How do you respond to sin in your life?

Restore Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDIVDBqxk_s

12 For you did it secretly, but I will do this thing before all Israel and before the sun.’” 13 David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.” And Nathan said to David, “The Lord also has put away your sin; you shall not die. 14 Nevertheless, because by this deed you have utterly scorned the Lord, the child who is born to you shall die.” 15 Then Nathan went to his house. And the Lord afflicted the child that Uriah’s wife bore to David, and he became sick.

O – The importance of stories in our lives….. Nathan used a story, a parable, to get to David’s heart. He told a story that so affected David, that he was angry at the outcome. “The man who has done this deserves to die….” Nathan’s response to David’s comment? “You are the man!” He listed ALL the things that God had done for David.’”Why have you despised the word of the Lord, to do what is evil in His sight?” Why did you do all that you have done, after what God has done for you? And, all the sin came out, all the ugly sin. David sinned in secret, but not it would be open. And the discipline would be, as well. David’s response? “I have sinned against the Lord.” No excuses. No blame. No pointing fingers. No denial. “I have sinned.” He realized the need for forgiveness and restoration.

A – So many things to think about today!
• Stories reach our hearts. Are there stories that I can use to help explain biblical truths in my life – or in that of others? Can I gently, but pointedly use them with others?
• It is “God’s job” to convict – not mine. I noted Nathan’s words to David were “I…. I…” in reference to God. Not “I think….” We are convicted by God, or His Holy Spirit. Let them do their work!
• Our sin is against God. After all He has done, why do we continue to sin? This is what reached David’s heart. He KNEW what God had done. He had to have what HE HAD DONE exposed, in light of God’s working.
• Secret sin is secret no longer when it is exposed. Yes, “Be sure your sin will find you out…” (Numbers 32:23)
• Our sin has ramifications, natural consequences. It is not always direct discipline. But, it sometimes is. David’s sin impacted his life forever, even after he was forgiven. His household was in turmoil. The child conceived died. His sons sinned openly – even to the point of having affairs with David’s wives/concubines. His reputation with his men may never have been the same. Trust is difficult to regain!
• I need to ask forgiveness, and take responsibility for my sin. I need restoration. I need to confess my sins. I, alone, am responsible. “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.” (Psalm 51:10-12)

I confess, there are times that I act like David, thinking that my sin is just that – MY sin. No one else needs to know. I can cover it over, gloss over it, and pretend that it isn’t there. But, God knows. He KNOWS. I don’t need to tell Him! But, that also means that it is up to me to confess, repent, and be restored. I suffer from the “guilties” when I don’t! So – why don’t I take care of it from the beginning?? My stubborn, Swedish nature (actually, my sin nature) takes over, and I think that I can deal with my own inadequacies. (gee – what sin?) I’m not being glib, just honest. Sometimes my sin is denying my sin! Oh, Lord, seek out my sin, point it out, and help me to respond to Your promptings.

P – Father God, create in me a clean heart, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from Your presence, and take not Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of my salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. Seek out my sin, and reveal it to me. Soften my heart, and remove my hard places. Help me to see my own sin – and ask for forgiveness. Thank You for Your love, Your unfailing patience with me, and Your forgiveness and restoration. Amen.

Restore Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDIVDBqxk_s

On the outside, You think I’m alright
There’s a smile on my face, everything’s okay
But on the inside there’s a different story
I’ve stumbled down this road and I’ve got so far to go

I’m a broken man
On my knees again
Longing for a touch from You
I need your hand to

Restore me, I need Your mercy
Take me to the place I used to be
Use all the pain and the hurt
To do a greater work and restore me

I wore my mask, running away from my past
Hiding all my scars, thinking I’d gone too far
But He knew my pain and He loved me just the same
He promised, I’d be free if I fell on my knees and cried

Restore me, I need Your mercy
Oh, take me to the place I used to be
Use all the pain and the hurt
To do a greater work and restore me

Restore unto me the joy of my salvation
So I’ll sing again, the song You wrote for me
Give me a clean heart, I want a brand new start
Like the moment when I first believed

Restore me, I need Your mercy
Oh, take me to the place I used to be
Use all the pain and the hurt
To do a greater work and restore me

Please Jesus, oh yeah
Give me another chance
I want to be a new man
Please restore me, yeah yeah, yeah

Leave a Reply

