Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Sinner – Day 1

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 1 – Read  2 SAMUEL 11:1–27   SOAP II Samuel 11:27WK6D1

Father, I have sinned – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCMRglp7xUs

27 And when the mourning was over, David sent and brought her to his house, and she became his wife and bore him a son. But the thing that David had done displeased the Lord.

O – It is so hard to see David, the one who we point to as the “man after God’s own heart”, and who wrote the psalms that we love, as a sinner. But when I read this passage again, I see how he rationalized his sin. He saw what he wanted (Bathsheba), and pursued obtaining her. But, it is interesting to note that he wasn’t doing what he was supposed to do as a king – he was at home at a time when kings were at battle. He wasn’t doing his job, what he was called to do. It was then, leisurely lounging on the rooftop, that he noticed Bathsheba. He didn’t ignore or turn away, he asked about her, he sent for her, he laid with her. At any point, he could have turned away. He took what wasn’t his. And he covered it up – even after Bathsheba was pregnant. He had Uriah placed in the front of the battlefield, and even had the troops withdraw from him, so that he would die. THAT would take care of the problem, he thought. With Uriah dead, he could marry Bethsheba, and have the child under the guise of marriage. Hidden sin. Rationalized sin. Sin upon sin. Covered over sin. BUT – what he did “displeased the Lord.” It wasn’t just the sin, or the child, or the death of Uriah, it was covered over – AND displeased God.

A – Hidden sin. Why do we think that we can hide it? Adam and Eve did. Achan did. David did. I did. I DID. We think we can hide it, cover it over, gloss over it, and pretend that it isn’t there. BUT IT IS. Adam and Eve placed blame. Achan covered it with a blanket. David married Bathsheba, probably hoping that no one would notice an “early pregnancy.” I did, thinking that no one would notice.

This brought me back to an incident in my childhood that became a story that I would tell in chapel at Brockton Christian School. But, every time that I think of it, I am reminded that sin “finds us out.” God knows. Even if we cover it over. When I was a child, I hated oatmeal. With a passion. I would sit, oatmeal in front of me, refusing to eat it. The longer I took to eat it, the “glue-ier” and thicker it would get – making it even more unpalatable. One day, I had a brilliant idea. I stuffed as much oatmeal as I could into my mouth, and went upstairs and spit it into the toilet. Gone! I went to school, pleased with myself that I had rid myself of the hated oatmeal. When I came home, my mom asked me if I had eaten my oatmeal. “of course – the bowl was empty.” She brought me upstairs to the evidence – I had forgotten to flush the toilet. There it was, staring me in the face – oatmeal floaties. I learned a verse, and an important truth that day, “Be sure your sins will find you out.” Numbers 32:23 – (NIV) “But if you fail to do this, you will be sinning against the Lord; and you may be sure that your sin will find you out.” The truth that my mom stressed to me was that, even if I thought that no one would notice my sin, God would. People might not find out. God knows. HE KNOWS.

That truth has stuck with me throughout my entire life. I didn’t need Nathan to point out my sin. My mom did. But more importantly, I learned that I was a sinner. I sinned. I covered over my sin, but I STILL SINNED. It is our nature, our sin nature, to not want to acknowledge that we are wrong, that we SIN. It displeases God. It saddens Him.

Did David know that he had sinned? I think he did. I know when I do. I may try to rationalize, or cover up, but I know. He must have known. God knew. And I think we all know that God knows. But – we cover it, justify it, rationalize it, anything to make ourselves feel better. How much better to go to Him – confess and be rid of our sin. To remember I John I:9, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” He will forgive. How much better than a guilty conscience, or a disrupted relationship with God. May I remember this when I am tempted to sin.

P – Father God, thank You for this reminder from Your Word. I know that my sin is wrong. But to see it displeases You is hard. Thank You for the forgiveness that You offer. In times of temptation, give me the strength to resist. Help me to do the right thing, so that I am not placing myself where I would be tempted to sin. And when I sin, bring me to the place where I recognize it, and confess it to You. Keep me in the center of Your will, pleasing You, and living for You.

What brought David to the point of sinning? Do you think he knew that it displeased the Lord?

Father, I have sinned – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCMRglp7xUs

Father I have sinned,
help me find my way.
Remember not my sins,
just let me hear you say::

I forgive you, I love you
You are mine, take my hand.
Go in peace, sin no more,
Beloved one.

Father I have turned,
my back and walked away
Depended on my strength
and lived life my own way

Father I have closed,
my heart to those in need.
Thought only of myself,
a victim of my greed.

Father I have loved,
if love’s the word to use.
I’ve played so many games,
they’ve left me so confused.

Father I’ve returned,
I’m home with you to stay.
Standing at your door,
knowing that you’ll say

Leave a Reply

