Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Friend – Day 5

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 5 – Read Eph. 4:29-32  SOAP v. 32WK5D5

Make me a channel of Your peace – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gcxg4XQgaGg

Ephesians 4:29-32  (ESV) 29 Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. 32 Be kind to one another, tenderhearted,  forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

 O – What does a Christian friendship look like?   What should we do, and be, as believers?

·         Our talk – not corrupting, but edifying.  Why?  To bestow grace on those who listen

·         Our walk – to not grieve the Holy Spirit in our words and actions

·         Our attitudes – get rid of bitterness, wrath, anger, slander, and malice

·         Our lives – to be kind, tenderhearted, and forgiving

·         WHY?  Christ forgave us!

 Our forgiveness to others is patterned after the forgiveness of Jesus towards us. When we think of the amazing way God forgives us, it is shameful for us to withhold forgiveness from those who have wronged us.

– God holds back His anger a long time until He forgives. He bears with us long though we sorely provoke Him.

– God reaches out to bad people to woo them to Himself, and attempts reconciliation with bad people.

– God always makes the first move in forgiveness, trying to reconcile even though the guilty party is uninterested in forgiveness

– God forgives our sin knowing that we will sin again, often in exactly the same way.

– God’s forgiveness is so complete and glorious that He grants adoption to those former offenders.

– God, in His forgiveness, bore all the penalty for the wrong we did against Him.

– God keeps reaching out to man for reconciliation even when man rejects Him again and again.

– God requires no probationary period to receive His forgiveness.

– God’s forgiveness offers complete restoration and honor. He loves, adopts, honors, and associates those who once wronged Him.

– God puts His trust in us and invites us to work with Him as co-laborers when He forgives us (David Guzik – blueletterbible)

 A – Are my relationships based on this view of biblical friendship?

·         Is my talk edifying and building up within my friendships?   Do I encourage, or tear down?   Do I “bestow grace?”   (I love that thought – if I worked on this – what difference would it make in my relationships?)

·         Do my actions show that I have the Holy Spirit living within me, or am I ruled by my own passions and worldly thoughts?

·         Do my attitudes reflect those of the world – or are they kind and loving?  Do I act with anger?  Or react with anger?

·         Am I kind, loving, and forgiving?  Am I tender-hearted?

·         Do I remember that Christ forgave my sins – all my sins?  Does that impact my ability to forgive the grievances of friendship?

 I desire that my friendships be ones that are edifying to those I connect with.  I desire that I “bestow grace” to those around me!  I desire that my heart attitudes reflect those things that God has poured into my life through His word – not the “natural man” that I was born with.  His working in me SHOULD make a difference in my relationships!  I pray that it does!

 P – Father God, thank You for Your word, and Your presence in my life.  Keep working in me, so that my heart reflects Your presence, and flows outward to others that I encounter.  Help me to act in a way that is pleasing to You, and edifying to others.  Thank You for the friendships that You are helping to develop here in Indy.  May I be a bestower of Your grace to those I meet, to those I meet with, and to those You place in my path.  Father, may I be a channel of Your peace today – and in the days following.

 Why do you think “forgiving one another” is included in Ephesians 4:32 when describing how Christians are supposed to treat each other? What impact does forgiveness have on a friendship?

Make me a channel of Your peace – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gcxg4XQgaGg

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there is hatred let me bring your love
Where there is injury, your pardon Lord
And where there’s doubt, true faith in you

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there’s despair in life let me bring hope
Where there is darkness, only light
And where there’s sadness ever joy

Oh, master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love with all my soul

Make me a channel of your peace
It isn’t pardoning that we are pardoned
In giving to all men let we receive
And in dying that we’re born to turn around

Oh, master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love with all my soul

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there’s despair in life let me bring hope
Where there is darkness, only light
And where there’s sadness ever joy

Leave a Reply

