Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Friend – Day 4

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 4 – Read Prov. 17:17; 18:24        SOAP Prov. 17:17

Prayer for a Friend – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7I4jQVvr7hU

Proverbs 17:17  (ESV)  17 A friend loves at all times,
and a brother is born for adversity.

Proverbs 18:24 (ESV) 24 A man of many companions may come to ruin,
but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

WK5D4O – Friendships.   From the scriptures, I know that friends love always, and they help you through troubled times (adversity).  Too many friends, especially those who do not share a relationship with the Lord, will negatively affect my relationship with the Lord.  But Jesus Christ will never fail.  His friendship is an everlasting friendship!

A – I have seen the power of friendships in my life, both positive and negative.  I confess that it is difficult to develop friendships for me.  It is a trust factor.  Trust, in relationships, is hard.  But, I have had some deep friendships that have been so edifying.  One is a woman that I have. been friends with for over fifteen years.   Since she is younger than I, at first it was a kind of mentoring relationship.   But now, it is more peer.  We have grown spiritually, and encouraged each other through death, job loss, schooling, children, stress, and more.  But I also have had a friendship that was detrimental to my spiritual growth.  I didn’t see it at first (I think of the frog in boiling water….), but I found myself doing and thinking things that weren’t healthy spiritually.  Now, it makes me think of the effect of friendships on my own growth – and of my effect on others as we.  Do I help or hinder the growth in others?

As I have been developing friendships in my new community and church, it is a blessing to see the type of friendships that are part of my life, now.  They are truly based on godly values and are edifying, not destructive.  Most of them have developed through our Tuesday morning Bible study, or through a book study.  One that is developing is with my next door neighbor.  I pray that my life will have a positive influence on her, to bring her to Christ.  I pray that Paul and I will be able to be true friends to her and her husband.  The past two months have been very positive for us.

Today’s question is difficult!  Vulnerability is so hard!   But, that is what I am working on in my relationships, not just friendships.  I know in my head that vulnerability is important, but my heart draws back.  Now that my time is freer without working outside the home, it is easier to have time with others, but distance is a factor.  I am 1,000 miles from old friends, and a half hour from my church.  But, God is helping to build those relationships, and I am more intentional in them.

P – Father God, thank You for friendships that bring me closer to YOu, and help me to grow.  Help me to be the kind of friend that does that for others.  Give me Your discernment in relationships, and Your love and kindness to those I meet.  May I be encouraging to others today.

 

Being in a healthy, committed friendship requires time with that person, honesty, and vulnerability. How would you rate yourself on a scale of 1-10 in each of those areas?

Prayer for a Friend – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7I4jQVvr7hU

Lord, I lift my friend to You, I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You
Complicated circumstances have clouded his view
Lord, I lift my friend up to You

I fear that I won’t have the words that he needs to hear
I pray for Your wisdom, oh God, and a heart that’s sincere
Lord, I lift my friend up to You

Lord, I lift my friend to You
My best friend in the world, I know he means much more to You
I want so much to help him, but this is something he has to do
And Lord, I lift my friend up to You

’cause there’s a way that seems so right to him
But You know where that leads
He’s becoming a puppet of the world, too blind to see the strings
Lord, I lift my friend up to You
My friend up to You

Lord, I lift my friend to You, I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You

Leave a Reply

