Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Friend – Day 3

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 3 – Read John 15:13-17               SOAP v. 15 – Jesus, the Best FriendWK5D3

What a Friend we Have in Jesus – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SCorW9r_Is

John 15:13-17 (ESV)

13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. 17 These things I command you, so that you will love one another.

O – Jesus, my friend.  How does He describe friendship??   It is “laying down your life” – giving up all of yourself – even your own life.  It is serving one another, thinking of others’ needs.  It is choosing the best for someone.  It is Jesus – choosing me, because of me, because of His great love.  I am not a second class citizen, but one chosen by Him – to be in a relationship with Him.  He laid down His life for me.  What should my response be to this?  To go and bear fruit.  To live life, so as to honor His sacrifice for me.  It is to love others.

A – How does this passage affect my view of friendship?   First of all, it is being a friend of Jesus Christ, my Lord.  He chose ME – sacrificing Himself for me.   Do I do the same for Him?  Do I choose Him, choose to spend time with Him?  Do I sacrifice myself for Him?  Do I bear fruit, the evidence of a growing relationship with Him?   Is a friendship with Jesus one that is flourishing and lovingly maintained?  Do I willingly spend time with Him – just resting in our relationship?

What about my own friendships?  Do I sacrifice time and energy for them, not in a negative and overbearing way?  Do I work to maintain them?  Do I choose their needs over mine?  This is food for thought, as I develop new friendships, and maintain the ones from my hometown.

P – Father God, bring my heart in line with Yours today.  Help me to work, not in a negative sense, to maintain and develop my friendship with Your Son.  Give me the desire to spend time with Him, quietly resting in His love.  Those times of rest are so important.  Help me to slow down, and enjoy my time, knowing that it is only the quality of our relationship that will build my love.   May it be my heart’s desire to be His friend.  And may my friendships reflect our love, built on Your sacrificial gift for me.

What a blessing it is to be called a friend of Jesus! What does that mean to you?

What is one way you can deepen and be more intentional in your friendship with Jesus?

What a Friend we Have in Jesus – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SCorW9r_Is

Leave a Reply

