Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Warrior – Day Two

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 2 – Read Psalm 144:1 – 4    SOAP v 1WK4D2

Made Me Glad – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytE8um04l24

Psalm 144:1-4 (ESV)
My Rock and My Fortress Of David.
144 Blessed be the LORD, my rock,
who trains my hands for war,
and my fingers for battle;
2 he is my steadfast love and my fortress,
my stronghold and my deliverer,
my shield and he in whom I take refuge,
who subdues peoples under me.
3 O LORD, what is man that you regard him,
or the son of man that you think of him?
4 Man is like a breath;
his days are like a passing shadow.

O – Yesterday, I read about David’s success because “God was with him.” Today, this passage talks about God – and His presence, and what that is like:
• God, my rock – “Rock” (vv. 2, 31, 46) is a familiar metaphor for the Lord, speaking of strength and stability, a place of refuge
• God, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle
• God, my steadfast love –
• God, my fortress – “Fortress” pictures God as a stronghold, like the city of Jerusalem on Mount Zion
• God, my stronghold –
• God, my deliverer
• God, my shield – “Shield” speaks of God’s protection (3:3; 7:10;28:7; 33:20; Gen. 15:1; Deut. 33:29), but it also is a symbol of the king (84:9; 89:18).
• God, in whom I take refuge
• God, who subdues peoples under me
And me….
• Who am I – that You should regard or think of me?
• Like a breath – The Hebrew word translated “breath” is habel, the name of one of Adam’s sons (Abel), and the word translated “vanity” thirty-eight times in Ecclesiastes. (See also 39:4-6, 22; 62:9; 78:33; 94:11.)
• Days are like a passing shadow – The “shadow” image is found in 102:11;109:23; Job 8:9 and 14:2; and Ecclesiastes 6:12 and 8:13. How helpless we are without the Lord!
• ( all annotations are from Warren Wiersbe – biblegateway.com)

A – When I look at the list of God’s qualities and what David saw in God, I am amazed. Why do I worry or fret, knowing that God is protecting me and providing shelter and comfort? I can take refuge in Him – from outside forces. He provides a place and person of stability (Rock, fortress, stronghold, deliverer), and is a protection from anyone or anything that would hurt me. My frailty, next to His strength, is like a vapor, the wing, a passing shadow. WHO AM I? He prepares me for the things that I’ll face in my life, if I let Him. My Rock, my strength, my preparer, my trainer – for this weak, passing, fleeting vapor. Why NOT depend on Him?

P –Father God – You are my Rock, my fortress, my deliverer. Help me to lean on Your strength today. Set my feet firmly on the Rock. Let me not be moved. May I be a vessel, prepared by You, prepared for You, prepared to serve You.

Made Me Glad – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytE8um04l24

“Made Me Glad”
I will bless the Lord forever
And I will trust Him at all times
He has delivered me from all sin
And He has set my feet upon a rock

And I will not be moved
And I’ll say of the Lord

You are my shield, my strength
My portion, Deliverer
My shelter, strong tower
My very present help in time of need

Whom have I in Heaven but You?
There’s none I desire beside You
You have made me glad
And I’ll say of the Lord

[Chorus:]
You are my shield, my strength
My portion, Deliverer
My shelter, strong tower
My very present help
You are my shield, my strength
My portion, Deliverer
My shelter, strong tower
My very present help in time of need

You have made me glad
And I’ll say of the Lord

[repeat chorus]

My very present help in time of need [repeat]

Leave a Reply

