Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Warrior – Day One

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 1 – Read 1 Samuel  18:6-16 (ESV)  SOAP I Sam. 18:14WK4D1

God With Us (Mercy Me) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MrajzjddeWA

6 As they were coming home, when David returned from striking down the Philistine, the women came out of all the cities of Israel, singing and dancing, to meet King Saul, with tambourines, with songs of joy, and with musical instruments. 7 And the women sang to one another as they celebrated, “Saul has struck down his thousands,     and David his ten thousands.” 8 And Saul was very angry, and this saying displeased him. He said, “They have ascribed to David ten thousands, and to me they have ascribed thousands, and what more can he have but the kingdom?” 9 And Saul eyed David from that day on. 10 The next day a harmful spirit from God rushed upon Saul, and he raved within his house while David was playing the lyre, as he did day by day. Saul had his spear in his hand. 11 And Saul hurled the spear, for he thought, “I will pin David to the wall.” But David evaded him twice. 12 Saul was afraid of David because the Lord was with him but had departed from Saul.13 So Saul removed him from his presence and made him a commander of a thousand. And he went out and came in before the people. 14 And David had success in all his undertakings, for the Lord was with him. 15 And when Saul saw that he had great success, he stood in fearful awe of him. 16 But all Israel and Judah loved David, for he went out and came in before them.

O – Twice in this passage, it says ”the Lord was with him.”  (v 12,14)  This fact, God with him, gave David an advantage over Saul, but it was more than that.  It was God’s presence.  It gave David the advantage over Goliath, a man much more powerful physically than David.  It gave David the advantage over Saul, a man much more powerful politically than David.  It gave David the wisdom and courage to command a thousand men.  It gave David standing before the ALL the people of Israel and Judah, over all the land.

God’s presence in those days was a privilege, and I can’t remember seeing that in the lives of what we would call “ordinary” people.  It was the priests, and the “greats” of the Old Testament.  BUT – then came Emmanuel, Jesus Christ, “God with Us.”  The daily presence of our God.  We have the privilege to have God with us – on  a daily basis.  What a privilege that is!!

A – Do I live my life as if I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that “God is with Karen?”  Do I allow God’s presence to give me the boldness and courage to do what He has for me?  Today’s blog reading struck me….  ”David was not a mighty warrior because of his own strength and power, but because of God’s strength and power.  So instead of thinking, “Oh, I wish I was bold and brave like David,” we need to be thinking, “Oh, I want to know and trust God the way David knew and trusted God.”´ (Jen – LoveGodGreatly)  It’s not the power or the bravery – but the way that David lived his life, with the knowledge that God’s presence was THERE – in his daily life.

Maybe that’s the part about David that God loved.   Did David’s heart – he was described as a man after God’s heart – allow God to work in Him, live in Him, and make His presence known in him?  Did David start each day with that knowledge of His presence?  Do I?  Can it be said, “and Karen had success in all her undertakings, because God was with her?”  Oh, may it be so today!

P – Father God, may I be aware of Your presence today.  May I make each decision, each task, each conversation, with the knowledge of Your presence.  Give me Your heart, so that I will be a woman after Your heart.  Make Your presence known today.  Work in me, live in me, empower me – for Your work today.  Amen.

In 1 Samuel 18:14 it states that the Lord was with David. What was it about David that pleased God so much?

God With Us (Mercy Me) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MrajzjddeWA

“God With Us”
Who are we that You would be mindful of us

what do You see that’s worth looking our way

we are free in ways that we never should be

sweet release from the grip of these chains

like hinges straining from the weight

my heart no longer can keep from singing.

[chorus]
all that is within me cries for You alone

be glorified Emmanuel God with us

my heart sings a brand new song

the debt is paid these chains are gone

Emmanuel God with us.

Lord You know our hearts don’t deserve

Your glory still You show a love we cannot afford

Like hinges straining from the weight

my heart no longer can keep from singing. [back to chorus]

Such a tiny offering compared to Calvary

nevertheless we lay it at your feet. [back to chorus]

Leave a Reply

