Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Man – Day Five

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 5 –  Friday Read John 15:5  and II Corinthians 12:9 –   SOAP II Corinthians 12:9WK3D5

(ESV) 5 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

2 CORINTHIANS 12:9 (ESV) 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

O – I know that the SOAP verse is from II Corinthians, but the verse from John has been running around in my head all week.  Last Sunday, our pastor preached from John 15.  Powerful.   We need to be IN Christ!  First of all, we need to learn to live in Him.  It is beyond accepting Christ as Savior – it is living in Him, and making Him Lord.   “So then, just as you received Jesus Christ as Lord, CONTINUE to LIVE IN HIM.” (Col. 3:6)  But, the following quotes from his sermon were powerful for me….  “We are conduits to what we’re connected to….”  “Fruit shows the results of being connected to the vine.”  “We need to be vine-focused, not fruit-focused – the fruit will come….”  (Pastor Greg Lex)

The verse from II Corinthians assumes that we are ALREADY IN CHRIST!  We cannot have Christ’s strength unless we have His presence!  And then, yes, we will have His grace, His power – to work in our weakness.  But He will not work within us, His power will not “rest upon me” UNLESS He is IN me!  And, I in Him.  What a strong connection between these verses!

A – I am learning, the older that I get, that ABIDING in Christ is a day by day, moment by moment decision.  I think it is the difference between Jesus as Savior (a decision point in time) and Jesus as Lord (a decision point day by day, moment by moment).  If we never get to the point of ABIDING in Christ, of having Him as our LORD, we never live in that strength, in that power that He gives!  It is SO BEYOND what I can do!

I know that Christ is sufficient in the “big moments,” as I have seen His power in my life through times of trial – my divorce, the time after my parents’ accident and my dad’s death, my mom’s cancer journey, my time of unemployment.  They were HUGE!  And I KNEW that I couldn’t go through those times without Christ’s presence and help.  But I think that these verses speak to more than that – it speaks of the daily journey.  The times that we don’t think “count.”  It is approaching people and sharing our lives with them.  It is committing to ministry.  It is making a decision to make a difference in the life of someone.  It is seeking Him for direction.   It is going through my day, with my eyes and ears open to the Holy Spirit’s leading.  Who needs a hug today?  Who needs an encouraging word?  Who just needs the time of someone to listen?  Who needs me to be kind to them, even if THEY are not?  I think that is part of MY weakness.  And I am learning to listen (and obey) the Spirit’s leading in this area.  And it IS that day by day, moment by moment DECISIONS to follow Him, not my own inclination to stay in my own safety zone.  I can’t use the excuse “I’m new here” any more!  I’ve been here 11 months.  On Sundays, I can’t hide behind the piano any more – I am “out there” in the congregation – and need to minister to the body.  It’s hard – to put yourself out there, especially as I’d much rather someone come to ME to talk than vice versa.  So, that idea of abiding in Christ, having His help in my weakness, is huge to me.  And yes, in those small moments.  And it gets easier, and easier.  “Pssst….. there’s a visitor over there.   Please go say hi to them….”   (Last Sunday….)

May God work in me in my weaknesses.   May I abide in Christ.  May Christ abide in me.

My prayer today:

As I arise today,
may the strength of God pilot me,
the power of God uphold me,
the wisdom of God guide me.
May the eye of God look before me,
the ear of God hear me,
the word of God speak for me.
May the hand of God protect me,
the way of God lie before me,
the shield of God defend me,
the host of God save me.
May Christ shield me today.
Christ with me, Christ before me,
Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me,
Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit,
Christ when I stand,
Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of everyone who speaks of me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in every ear that hears me.
Amen  (Prayer of St. Patrick)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8FKZIz97AU

Your Grace is Sufficient for Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3lugKYiwW0

Your Grace Is Sufficient

Chorus

Your grace is sufficient for me

Your strength is made perfect

When I am weak

 

All that I cling to I lay at Your feet

Your grace is sufficient for me

 

Verse 1

I’m no longer striving

To merit Your love

I rest in Your promise to me

That all of my sins have

Been washed in Your blood

Your mercy is all that I need

 

Chorus

Your grace is sufficient for me

Your strength is made perfect

When I am weak

All that I cling to I lay at Your feet

Your grace is sufficient for me

 

Verse 2

You see me as righteous

Because of the blood

That made the atonement for me

Your mercy has triumphed

Where I should be judged

So now by Your grace I am free

 

Chorus

Your grace is sufficient for me

Your strength is made perfect

When I am weak

All that I cling to I lay at Your feet

Your grace is sufficient for me

 

Holy Spirit, living Breath of God – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8FKZIz97AU

 

“Holy Spirit, living Breath of God,
Breathe new life into my willing soul.
Bring the presence of the risen Lord
To renew my heart and make me whole.
Cause Your Word to come alive in me;
Give me faith for what I cannot see;
Give me passion for Your purity.
Holy Spirit, breathe new life in me.

Holy Spirit, come abide within;
May Your joy be seen in all I do—
Love enough to cover ev’ry sin
In each thought and deed and attitude,
Kindness to the greatest and the least,
Gentleness that sows the path of peace.
Turn my striving into works of grace.
Breath of God, show Christ in all I do.

Holy Spirit, from creation’s birth,
Giving life to all that God has made,
Show Your power once again on earth;
Cause Your church to hunger for Your ways.
Let the fragrance of our prayers arise.
Lead us on the road of sacrifice
That in unity the face of Christ
Will be clear for all the world to see.

Leave a Reply

