Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Man – Day Four

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 4 – Thursday, June 23, 2016.  Hebrews 2:14-18 (ESV)  SOAP Hebrews 2:17-18WK3D4

14 Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, 15 and deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery. 16 For surely it is not angels that he helps, but he helps the offspring of Abraham.17 Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. 18 For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.

O – How cool is that – that God would give US a gift like US?  What a sacrifice that is, really.  He HAD to be made like us IN EVERY RESPECT, SO THAT (I love that SO THAT) He might become a MERCIFUL and FAITHFUL high priest – to make propitiation for our sins.   (Propitiation – hilaskomai – The word “propitiation” is closely related to the word “expiation.” The difference in meaning may be summarized as follows: a person who is angry or offended is propitiated, i.e., appeased; whereas sin and guilt, which weigh upon the conscience of the offender are expiated, i.e., removed or wiped away. – Encyclopedia of the Bible – biblegateway)   We could not remove our sins, or pay the price for them, unless we died.   Jesus Christ, by his sacrificial death, paid the price, thereby appeasing God’s holy nature by removing our sins from us.  As a “high priest” – He is the only one who can enter God’s presence in the Holy of Holies, to make atonement for our sins (referencing the High Priests from the Old Testament).  Christ is not only “one of us”, but He is also our great High Priest, and the sacrifice.

Another aspect of Christ’s human nature is that He is able to understand and help us in our temptations.  He was tempted.  He was human.  He “gets it.”  He was tempted by Satan, and did not sin.  He was tempted in areas that would be easy to “give in.”  Yet, He did not sin.

A – I think of Christ as the payment of my sins, and in some ways, I am appalled by the way I sometimes take it for granted, or take it lightly.  He DIED for my sins!    He, who was perfect, and did not sin, died for my inward and outward sins, bad attitudes, wrong actions, and sinful thoughts.  And God knows all this!   This is why Christ HAD to die – because God cannot stand those sins that I do.  Christ died, in MY place, to be the propitiation for my sins – to appease our Holy God.  I could not do this on my own.  So why do I not live in this attitude moment by moment, day by day?  Do I take it for granted, as I have known this for so long?  May I continually have a fresh, new mindset when thinking of what Christ’s death really means – for me.

But, it is also the understanding that Christ became human, in order to understand the human heart and emotions.  He was tempted by Satan.   He didn’t sin. He responded in strength, in the strength of God’s word.  Do I do that – or try to resist in my own strength?  Do I run to the Word, claiming the Word, stating the Word, so that I resist Satan’s attempts to get me to sin?  Oh, may I do this – claiming victory because of Christ’s presence and Christ’s example for me.

P – Father God, thank You for Your Son’s willingness to be my great high priest – and propitiation for my sins.   He willingly died – for me.  He willingly sacrificed His place in heaven to become human – for me.  He went through emotions, temptation, loneliness, betrayal, sadness, even death – for me.  May I live today, in full acknowledgement of His sacrifice.  Father, work in my heart, cleanse it and make it soft and pliable for Your workings.  Work in and through me, today.  You are ABLE.  You will not fail.  You will not forsake.  And You will prevail.  You are almighty God – my God.

How does knowing that Jesus willingly came to us and experienced heartbreak, temptations, and ultimately great suffering on our behalf help us approach Him now when we are heartbroken or tempted?

God Is Able” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTSknArjnWM

[Verse 1]
God is able
He will never fail
He is almighty God
Greater than all we seek
Greater than all we ask
He has done great things

[Chorus]
Lifted up
He defeated the grave
Raised to life
Our God is able
In His name
We overcome
For the Lord
Our God is able

[Verse 2]
God is with us
God is on our side
He will make a way
Far above all we know
Far above all we hope
He has done great things

[Chorus]
Lifted up
He defeated the grave
Raised to life
Our God is able
In His name
We overcome
For the Lord
Our God is able

[Bridge]
God is with us
He will go before
He will never leave us
He will never leave us
God is for us
He has open arms
He will never fail us
He will never fail us

[Chorus (x2)]
Lifted up
He defeated the grave
Raised to life
Our God is able
In His name
We overcome
For the Lord
Our God is able

For the Lord
Our God is able
For the Lord
Our God is able

Leave a Reply

