Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the Man – Day Three

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 3 – WEDNESDAY – JESUS THE BETTER MAN Read JOHN 1:1-4, 14 (ESV)  SOAP John 1:14WK3D3

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through him, and without him was not anything made that was made. 4 In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.

O – What thoughts today – almost beyond understanding.  God – in the beginning, the Word, the Word was WITH God, and WAS God.   God made all things – everything that IS was not made without God.  He IS life.  BUT –   BUT – BUT – this Word became MAN, became flesh, and lived as a man.  He lived a life like mine.   He experienced what we do as mankind.  YET – He was God, full of glory, grace and truth.

A – What does this mean for me?  Today?   That God made everything?  That God is sovereign?  AND – God became man.  He lived as I do, experiencing the joys, the pains, the emotions, the frustrations, the temptations, the “life” that I do.  YET – he was without sin.   “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.”  (Hebrews 4:15 ESV)  His life was sinless.   So, his death in paying for my sin was the sinless, sacrificial lamb.   When you really think about it – it is hard to reconcile – He was without sin, yet He experienced life as I do.  What is the difference?  His relationship with the Father.  He IS the Father.  He and the Father are One.  Jesus said, “And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.” (John 17:11 ESV)

Do I live in the Father, as Jesus did?  Do I realize that Jesus came – for me?  That His life, His servant nature, His death – was for me?  Do I live in that realization?   Do I live in triumph, knowing that His sinless life and sacrifice paid the price for my sin?  What a gift.  What a sacrifice.  What a privilege we have to live life, knowing that we can triumph over sin, and temptation.  Not alone.  But, with Christ’s example, and presence in our lives today.  May my life be an example of grace, truth and love today.  Evermore and evermore.

P – Father God, thank You for Your gift, Your sacrifice, that gave me eternal life.  But it also gives me victory over my sins today.  Your presence, Your strength, Your forgiveness are there, for me.  Thank You for sending Your Son, for me.  May I live today in Your strength and power.   May I demonstrate Your love and grace to those around me.  Amen.

Why is it important to understand that Jesus dwelt among us (John 1:14)?

Of the Father’s Love Begotten – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzIgBDZHD5U

1 Of the Father’s love begotten
ere the worlds began to be,
he is Alpha and Omega —
he the source, the ending he,
of the things that are, that have been,
and that future years shall see
evermore and evermore.

2 O that birth forever blessed,
when a virgin, blest with grace,
by the Holy Ghost conceiving,
bore the Savior of our race;
and the babe, the world’s Redeemer,
first revealed his sacred face,
evermore and evermore.

3 This is he whom seers in old time
chanted of with one accord,
whom the voices of the prophets
promised in their faithful word;
now he shines, the long-expected;
let creation praise its Lord
evermore and evermore.

4 Let the heights of heaven adore him;
angel hosts, his praises sing:
powers, dominions, bow before him
and extol our God and King;
let no tongue on earth be silent,
every voice in concert ring
evermore and evermore.

5 Christ, to you, with God the Father
and the Spirit, there shall be
hymn and chant and high thanksgiving
and the shout of jubilee:
honor, glory, and dominion
and eternal victory
evermore and evermore.

Leave a Reply

