Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David the man – Day Two

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 2 – Read 2 SAMUEL 12:1-17  SOAP II Samuel 12:16-17WK3D2

(ESV) 12 And the Lord sent Nathan to David. He came to him and said to him, “There were two men in a certain city, the one rich and the other poor. 2 The rich man had very many flocks and herds, 3 but the poor man had nothing but one little ewe lamb, which he had bought. And he brought it up, and it grew up with him and with his children. It used to eat of his morsel and drink from his cup and lie in his arms, and it was like a daughter to him. 4 Now there came a traveler to the rich man, and he was unwilling to take one of his own flock or herd to prepare for the guest who had come to him, but he took the poor man’s lamb and prepared it for the man who had come to him.” 5 Then David’s anger was greatly kindled against the man, and he said to Nathan, “As the Lord lives, the man who has done this deserves to die, 6 and he shall restore the lamb fourfold, because he did this thing, and because he had no pity.” 7 Nathan said to David, “You are the man! Thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, ‘I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you out of the hand of Saul. 8 And I gave you your master’s house and your master’s wives into your arms and gave you the house of Israel and of Judah. And if this were too little, I would add to you as much more. 9 Why have you despised the word of the Lord, to do what is evil in his sight? You have struck down Uriah the Hittite with the sword and have taken his wife to be your wife and have killed him with the sword of the Ammonites. 10 Now therefore the sword shall never depart from your house, because you have despised me and have taken the wife of Uriah the Hittite to be your wife.’ 11 Thus says the Lord, ‘Behold, I will raise up evil against you out of your own house. And I will take your wives before your eyes and give them to your neighbor, and he shall lie with your wives in the sight of this sun. 12 For you did it secretly, but I will do this thing before all Israel and before the sun.’”  13 David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.” And Nathan said to David,  “The  Lord also has put away your sin; you shall not die. 14 Nevertheless, because by this deed you have utterly scorned the Lord, the child who is born to you shall die.” 15 Then Nathan went to his house. And the Lord afflicted the child that Uriah’s wife bore to David, and he became sick. 16 David therefore sought God on behalf of the child. And David fasted and went in and lay all night on the ground. 17 And the elders of his house stood beside him, to raise him from the ground, but he would not, nor did he eat food with them.

O – David sinned. He was confronted of his sin by Nathan.  He admitted his sin, “I have sinned against the Lord.”  No excuses.  (Well, after Nathan confronted him….)  David did seek the Lord on the behalf of his son, and even fasted and prayed.  But God’s will prevailed, as did his discipline.  But what I love about this story is the fact that God also showed mercy and grace in the form of David and Bathsheba’s child, Solomon.  They were given another son.

David responded to Nathan’s confrontation with honesty – and named WHO he offended.  “I have sinned against the Lord.”   No excuses.  No denials.  No pointing fingers.  “I have sinned.”  His response in Psalm 51 (A Psalm of David, when Nathan the prophet went to him, after he had gone in to Bathsheba) shows David’s heart – remorse and regret, and admission of sin.  He asked to be cleansed from his sin (51:2), admitted that he had sinned against God (v. 4), asked for cleansing (v. 10) and a clean heart.   He asked that God not cast him from His presence, nor remove the Holy Spirit from him )v. 11).   He asked for restoration of the joy of his salvation (12), and for God to uphold him with a willing spirit.  In return, he would teach other sinners God’s way (v 13) and would sing His praises (v. 15).   David understood God’s attitude towards sin and sacrifice (v 16,17) – that actions that were not done with a heart that was pure would not delight God.  What God desires is a broken and contrite heart.   Period.  Our hearts.  Not our meaningless actions.  Our hearts.  Not bad attitudes.  Our hearts.  Not blame.  Our hearts.   Not excuses.  Our hearts.  Period.

A – Psalm 51 has always spoken to my heart.  David sinned.  I sin, as well.  But, David acknowledge his sin (what was a ‘biggie” in our world), and admitted that he had sinned against God.  And God used the discipline of natural consequences in this case.   He sinned.  A child was born.  That child died.  It is hard to come to terms with a child dying – he did nothing wrong.  But that child also would not grow up in a household of rationalized sin.   I won’t understand that particular punishment, but I do know that we do learn from natural consequences that are related to our sins.

I love that David admitted his sin, this strong powerful king admitted that he was wrong.  Grievously  wrong.  BUT he also asked God for cleaning, for restoration, for His working in David’s heart – creating a clean heart and a willing spirit.  Oh, that I also would have a clean heart AND a willing spirit today!  I also realized that God doesn’t want me to just go through the motions, but to truly repent and TURN from my sins.  And in response – to praise Him.

P – Father God, today I come to You with thanksgiving, for a cleansed heart.  Continue to work in me, to give me a willing spirit to obey You in everything.  Give me Your eyes to see the traps that lie ahead of me, so that I am not trapped in sin or the ways of this world.  Give me Your heart to be pure and willing to obey Your commands with joy.  Help me to teach and share with those around me the power of Your restorative love.  I praise You for all that You have done in my life.  May my life, my actions, my attitudes, my speech – all reflect Your presence in my life today.  Amen.

When Nathan confronted David with his sin in 2 Samuel 12:1-17, how did David respond? How would you have responded?

Why do you think God forgave David of his sin of sleeping with Bathsheba but didn’t take away the consequence of his actions?

Psalm 51 – Have Mercy on Me, O God – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRgCcTzCX-4

Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your unfailing love;
according to your great compassion
blot out my transgressions
2 Wash away all my iniquity
and cleanse me from all my sin.
3 For I know my transgressions,
and my sin is always before me.
4 Against you only have I sinned
and done what is evil in your sight,
so that you are proved right when you speak
and justified when you judge.
5 Surely I was sinful at birth;
Surely I was sinful at birth.

6 Surely you desire truth in the inward parts;
And you teach me wisdom,
wisdom in the innermost place.
7 With hyssop make me clean,
wash me whiter than snow.
8 Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones you have crushed rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins
and blot out all my iniquity.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.

11 Cast me not away from your presence, O LORD
and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore unto me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

13 Then I will teach transgressors you ways
and sinners will turn back to you.
14 Save me from the guilt upon me,
LORD who saves me,
and my tongue will sing of your righteousness
O LORD the God who saves me.
15 Open up my lips,
and I will declare your praise.

16 You do not delight in sacrifices,
or surely I would bring it;
you do not take pleasure in offerings, O LORD
17 but the sacrifices of God are a
broken spirit and a contrite heart.
The LORD will never despise a broken spirit
and a contrite heart.

18 In your good pleasure make Zion prosper;
build up the walls of Jerusalem.
19 Then there will be righteous sacrifices,
whole burnt offerings to delight you;
then bulls will be offered on your altar.

Leave a Reply

