Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – the King – Day 5

Leave a comment

Day Five – Read Romans 8:17; Ephesians 2:19 – SOAP v 19WK2D5

Romans 8:17(ESV)  –  and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.

Ephesians 2:19 (ESV) –  So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God,

O – What a description of who I am!!

I AM:

  • Children of God
  • Heirs of God – klēronomos
    • one who receives by lot, an heir
    • an heir
    • in Messianic usage, one who receives his allotted possession by right of sonship
  • Fellow heir with Christ – sygklēronomosa
    • fellow heir, a joint heir
    • one who obtains something assigned to himself with others, a joint participant
  • Fellow citizens with the saints – sympolitēs
    • possessing the same citizenship with others, a fellow citizen
  • of Gentiles as received into communion of the saints
  • of the people consecrated to God
  • Members of the household of God – oikeios
    • belonging to God’s household

I am NOT:

  • Stranger
  • Alien

A Cause/Effect relationship:

  • IF I suffer with Christ
  • THEN I will be also be glorified with Him

 

A – What does this mean for me, today?  I need to keep in mind WHO I AM.  I AM a child of God.  I am not an orphan, or stranger, or alien.  I BELONG.  But it is more than just belonging.  It comes with rights and responsibilities, just like being in a biological family.   I have rights as a child of God to inherit  the inheritance of eternal life.  I am a joint heir with Christ, with the same rights and responsibilities.  But I am also a fellow citizen  – received into the community of the saints.   As a joint heir with Christ, I share in “sharing His spiritual blessing and inheritance.”  (AMP)  BUT, there is also a responsibility, of suffering with Him.  He suffered alienation  from his family and friends, and died a criminal’s death.  He was rejected and mocked.

Am I willing to embrace Christ’s suffering, or do I just look at the “benefits” of being part of the family of God?  Will life always be “easy” because I have committed to Christ?   According to this passage – NO!  Yes, there are “benefits” to belonging to God’s family – a belonging, a family, an inheritance, a community of believers.   But, here in America, we think that life should be easy and prosperous, and sometimes it is.  We are here in a country that is free, and yet there are others around the world that are persecuted and tormented because of their beliefs.  What if that were the case here?  Would I STILL embrace my relationship with Christ?   Would I be called to make a choice of my life or Christ?

Another aspect of this verse makes me realize that I am a daughter of the King.  The King of kings.  I am royalty, not a pauper.  I have resources of a very great God – with no end to HIS resources!  I can live in victory – victory over sin, victory over self, victory over temptation.   But, do I?    This verse from “I’m a Child of the King” spoke to me:  “Though poor on this earth, oh, why should I care? Since glorious things for me God doth prepare; Though trials abound, yet, still I may sing: All glory to God, I’m a child of the King.”   May I live today, with the knowledge that God is preparing a place for me – and sing my way through the day, rejoicing in Him!

Knowing that you are of God’s household, how does that change the way you view yourself?  I am a child of the King.  I need to live that way, with not only the knowledge, but with the life that glorifies Him, and reflects on Him.  My actions, my speech, my attitudes – all reflect on the family to which I belong.  May they be a positive representation of my lineage and heritage!

P – Father God, King of kings, and Lord of lords, may You be pleased with my actions and attitudes today.  May they truly reflect the fact that I AM a child of the King.  Father, help me today to walk with this realization – through all the day.  May I approach each task, each encounter, each moment, with the knowledge of Your blessings, but also my responsibilities of my belonging to this family.

In Christ there is no East or West – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNRyGGSOQLQ

1 In Christ there is no east or west,
in him no south or north,
but one great fellowship of love
throughout the whole wide earth.

2 In Christ shall true hearts everywhere
their high communion find;
his service is the golden cord
close-binding humankind.

3 Join hands, disciples of the faith,
whate’er your race may be.
All children of the living God
are surely kin to me.

4 In Christ now meet both east and west;
in him meet south and north.
All Christly souls are one in him
throughout the whole wide earth.

I’m a Child of the King – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta5TCjVWbfI

My Father is rich in houses and lands,
He holdeth the wealth of the world in His hands!
Of rubies and diamonds, of silver and gold,
His coffers are full, He has riches untold.

I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

My Father’s own Son, the Savior of men,
Once wandered on earth as the poorest of them.
But now He is pleading our pardon on high,
That we may be His when He comes by and by.

I once was an out-cast stranger on earth,
A sinner by choice, and an alien by birth;
But I’ve been adopted, my name’s written down,
An heir of salvation, the kingdom and crown.

Though poor on this earth, oh, why should I care?
Since glorious things for me God doth prepare;
Though trials abound, yet, still I may sing:
All glory to God, I’m a child of the King.

A Child of the King (Gaither) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRsm12Fd0qY

Once I was clothed in the rags of my sin
Wretched and poor lost and lonely within
But with wonderous compassion the King of all Kings
In pity and love took me under his wing.

Oh yes, oh yes, I’m a child of the King
His royal blood now flows in my veins
And I who was wretched and poor now can sing
Praise God Praise God I’m a child of the King.

Now I’m a child with a heavenly home
My holy father has made me his own
And I am cleansed by his blood and I’m clothed in his love
And someday I’ll sing with the angels above.

Oh yes, oh yes, I’m a child of the King
His royal blood now flows in my veins
And I who was wretched and poor now can sing
Praise God Praise God I’m a child of the King…

Leave a Reply

