Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The King – Day 3

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day Three – Read John 18:33-37 – SOAP v. 36WK2D3

John 18:33-37 – Jesus, the Better King

33 So Pilate entered his headquarters again and called Jesus and said to him, “Are you the King of the Jews?” 34 Jesus answered, “Do you say this of your own accord, or did others say it to you about me?” 35 Pilate answered, “Am I a Jew? Your own nation and the chief priests have delivered you over to me. What have you done?” 36 Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not of this world. If my kingdom were of this world, my servants would have been fighting, that I might not be delivered over to the Jews. But my kingdom is not from the world.” 37 Then Pilate said to him, “So you are a king?” Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world—to bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to my voice.”

S – John 18:36 –  Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not of this world. If my kingdom were of this world, my servants would have been fighting, that I might not be delivered over to the Jews. But my kingdom is not from the world.”

O – Jesus is standing before Pilate, accused of being the “King of the Jews.”  Pilate didn’t get it.  He asked Jesus was the King of the Jews.   Jesus clarified the question, due to what the word “King” meant.  If it was from the Romans (Pilate), it would be a political kingship.  If it was from others (the Jews), it would be a religious kingship, as seen from their perspective.  Pilate commented that it was the Jews that had brought Jesus before him.   So – Jesus clarified the meaning of king and kingdom for him.  He said that “my kingdom is not OF this world” and “my kingdom is not FROM the world.”  In other words, His kingdom did not originate from human standpoint, nor was it a temporal kingdom – it is eternal.  It was not political, nor a kingdom based on war and conquering.  It was peace-oriented.  Otherwise, His followers would be fighting.  David Guzik’s commentary (below) brought up excellent points.    God’s kingdom is  ”not found in trying to rule over others or things, but in being more fully ruled by God.”   (Guzik – blueletterbible)  Charles Colson’s quote in Guzik’s article also made sense.  “”This is the crucial point. While human politics is based on the premise that society must be changed in order to change people, in the politics of the Kingdom it is people who must be changed in order to change society. ” (Charles Colson – Kingdoms In Conflict)

A – What does this mean for me today?  Am I the “ruler” of my kingdom – my daily life, or do I allow God to be the King of my life?  Do I live to serve Him, or do I twist my desires, to have Him serve me?  (ouch!)  Do I allow Him to change me, to work in me, so I can influence those around me – for His Kingdom?  Am I “fully ruled by God?”

While looking for the song “Unshakeable Kingdom” (which tells of the confusion of people looking for the kingdom of God, and their misunderstanding of the kingdom that Jesus was talking about), I stumbled on the song “When His Kingdom Comes.”    Oh, those words challenge me!  “He will set up His kingdom within you, filling the void with delight.  Taking dominion over selfish desires, transforming the darkness to light…… when His kingdom comes, what a difference.  When things are in earth as they are in heave.  When all has been settled, and my heart is His throne.  Oh, what a difference, when His kingdom comes!”  I WANT this!  I want His kingdom to take dominion over me, and transform me!  My heart to be His throne.  That is my desire.

Because Jesus’ kingdom was not of this world, what He loved and valued was different from what the world loves and values. Why is it important to remember this truth?   The words to “When His Kingdom Comes” just touch my heart here.  If His kingdom rules in my life, then He takes dominion over selfish desires, transforming my heart to be His, and my heart becomes His throne.  Then, and only then, my life will demonstrate who my KING is – Jesus Christ.  He rules.  Not Karen.  Not my earthly desires.  Not my selfish desires.  His desires – not only for me, but for His eternal kingdom.

P – Father God, my King, my ruler, my Sovereign Lord, rule in my life today.  Father, set up Your kingdom within me, and rule over my heart.  May all that I say, and do, and my attitudes – reflect Your kingship in my life.  Father, may my life today, and the days following, be Yours.  Rule in my life, transforming my inner person to be one that delights in You – and that You delight to see and work within.  Father, as I go through this day, and prepare for the week ahead in ministry, may my life be a dwelling place for You, reflecting Your love for others.

When His Kingdom Comes – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewHmRn6KB2I

He will set up His kingdom within you
Filling the void with delight
Taking dominion over selfish desires
Transforming the darkness to light
Transforming the darkness to wonderful light

Chorus:
When His kingdom comes
What a difference
When things are in earth
As they are in heaven
When all has been settled
And my heart is His throne
Oh what a difference
When His kingdom comes

Oh that I would be
His perfect dwelling place
Oh that my King
Would fill up the empty space
Then flood every room every part
Sanctify this temple
Then build His throne in my heart

Chorus

Words and Music by Dottie Rambo & Dony McGuire
Copyright 1984 New Kingdom Music (c/o The Benson Company). All rights reserved. Used by permission.

Sandi Patty Unshakable Kingdom Lyrics – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GoD_BlGMdo

They came to follow Him
Drawn by what He promised them
If they would sell al that they had
He said that God would send a kingdom
That would never end
Where all the poor would be so rich
And in their discontent
They heard what they thought He meant
They heard that the weak would be strong
Bread would be multiplied
Hunger be satisfied
And every servant a king
In his kingdom of God
A kingdom that would never end
A living unshakeable kingdom of God

But He went His quiet way
Giving himself away
Building what eyes could never see
While men looked for crowns and thrones
He walked with crowds alone
Planting a seed in you and me
Crying for those who cried
Dying for those who died
Bursting forth glorified! Alive!
And some of them looked for Him
Sad that it had to end
But some dared to look within and see
The kingdom of God
A kingdom that would never end
The living, unshakeable kingdom of God

Still some of them looked for Him
Sad that it had to end
But some dare to look within and see
The kingdom of God
A kingdom that will never end
The living unshakeable kingdom of God, of God!

  1. My kingdom is not of this world: Jesus here declares the great and permanent difference between God’s kingdom and the kingdoms of this world. Jesus’ kingdom originatesin heaven (My kingdom is not of this world). The foundation of Jesus’ kingdom is peace (His servants will not fight).
  2. My kingdom is not from here: Augustine observed from this verse that earthly kingdoms are based upon force, pride, the love of human praise, the desire for domination, and self interest – all displayed by Pilate and the Roman Empire.
  3. Earthly kingdoms have a purpose in that they restrain wickedness and preserve order, but they are very different from God’s kingdom, and should remain separate and distinct.
  4. The heavenly kingdom, exemplified by Jesus and the cross, is based on love, sacrifice, humility, and righteousness – and is to the Jews a stumbling block, and to the Gentiles foolishness(1 Corinthians 1:23).
  5. Christians must take care that they live and serve with the power demonstrated by the cross, not the power of Rome. The key to living in Jesus’ kingdom is not found in trying to rule over others or things, but in being more fully ruled by God.
  6. “This is the crucial point. While human politics is based on the premise that society must be changed in order to change people, in the politics of the Kingdom it is people who must be changed in order to change society. ” (Charles Colson – Kingdoms In Conflict)
  7. In Jesus’ day, they were conditioned to look for salvation in political solutions – we are also tempted to further the purposes of the Kingdom by the power of this world; history shows that any gains realized are greatly offset by the liabilities of a religious state.
  8. My kingdom is not from here: Pilate may have been relieved at Jesus’ answer that His kingdom was not of this world, because he didn’t know which is the stronger of the two kingdoms.
  9. The eternal King who rules over the souls of men is mightier than an external foe with powerful armies. Rome is gone, Napoleon is gone, Hitler is gone, but the Kingdom of Jesus marches on. (David Guzik – blueletterbible.org)

 

#lovegodgreatly

Leave a Reply

