Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The King – Day 2

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day Two – Read II Samuel 7:8-9,16;   SOAP II Samuel 7:16WK2D2

Cornerstone – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvLxZEU02uI

2 Samuel 7:8-9 (ESV)

Now, therefore, thus you shall say to my servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord of hosts, I took you from the pasture, from following the sheep, that you should be prince over my people Israel. And I have been with you wherever you went and have cut off all your enemies from before you. And I will make for you a great name, like the name of the great ones of the earth.

2 Samuel 7:16 (ESV) – 16 And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before me. Your throne shall be established forever.”

 

O – The first part of this passage is the message that the Lord gave to Nathan – to tell to David.  It reinforces the fact that GOD, the LORD, established David’s kingship.  HE took David from being a shepherd to King.  HE was with David and HE cut off David’s enemies.  HE would make a great name for David.  Nathan goes on to say that David’s rule would help provide a place for God’s people to dwell in peace in the land that He had given them.

David’s desire was to build a house for the LORD (v. 1,2), as he was living in a palace, and God’s dwelling place was a tent at that time.  The ark of the covenant was in a tent, and David desired to build a temple in which to house the ark.  But God’s desire was to build a “house and a kingdom” that would be eternal.  Perhaps this is referencing to the fact that later on, David’s descendents would be part of the royal family….. leading to the birth of the Messiah.  But, also, the great King, the Messiah, in Jesus Christ, is part of the lineage of David.  And HIS kingdom would be “established forever!”

Why do you think David found such favor with the Lord? What was David’s reaction to Nathan’s words?  David’s first words were:  “Who am I, O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?” (II Sam. 7:18)  He uses the words, “O Sovereign LORD” six times (NIV) in his response.  David KNEW where his blessings and success came from, and gave complete credit and honor to God.  THAT is why I think he found favor with the Lord.   It wasn’t his doing – it was HIS doing!

A – Do I realize – think and act – in a manner that gives complete credit to what God has done?  Is Jesus LORD of my life – or part of my life?   David realized, at this point in his life, that GOD had brought success to him, not David.  It is not my efforts, in my own strength, that give success.  I have to give credit to God.  I took time to read the prayer that was his response to Nathan’s words, and marvel in the way that he praised God, worshipped God, gave credit to God – for all that He had done.  It wasn’t “I did this, and I did that”, but “You have done this great thing.”  Oh, that I would continually realize – and shout out – that “God has done this” in my own life!

Today, I look at the blessings that God has given just in the past year, and marvel at His working.  I am married to a wonderful, Godly man – and I am blessed.  I am attending a church where I am growing – and I am blessed.  I am part of a group of women who meet on Tuesday mornings to study God’s word – and I am blessed.  I have met women here whom I consider friends – and I am blessed.  We have had opportunities to talk with neighbors and start building relationships – and I am blessed.  Paul and I share five children, all of whom are following the Lord – and we are blessed.  My mom is finishing a year of chemotherapy and cancer treatment, and is ministering to others – and this, too, is a blessing.  I am building relationships with grandchildren (all 8 of them) that we share – and I am blessed.  I am part of a group of women who meet on Facebook to share their reflections and SOAPs – and I am blessed.  And yes, all this is part of what GOD is doing.  I am one small piece of HIS working.  And this too, I recognize as His blessing.  May I always remember that HE is the Cornerstone.  “Christ alone; cornerstone.  Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love.  Through the storm, He is Lord, Lord of all.”

P – As David said, “Sovereign LORD, who am I, that You have brought me this far?”  Father God, You are also my Sovereign LORD.   You are the Great Creator and sustainer of the universe, yet You step down to bless me.   Thank You for all that You have done in my life.  I count the blessings of even just this past year, and I am amazed at Your workings.   Thank You for the blessings that You have placed in my life.  Help me to take those blessings, and to bless others in return.  Keep me humble and meek, and help me not to rely on my own strength.  Father, may You receive the honor, and the glory, and the blessing of my words and my actions today.  I want to walk through this day, giving You the honor and the glory.  Amen.

 

“Cornerstone”
My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When Darkness seems to hide His face
I rest on His unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil
My anchor holds within the veil

Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all
He is Lord
Lord of all

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless stand before the throne.

Leave a Reply

