Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The King – Day 1

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1 – Read II Samuel 5:1 – 5;9-12 – SOAP II Sam. 5:10WK2D1

He is With Us – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6mEQS2fsWE

2 Samuel 5:1-5 (ESV)

Then all the tribes of Israel came to David at Hebron and said, “Behold, we are your bone and flesh. In times past, when Saul was king over us, it was you who led out and brought in Israel. And the Lordsaid to you, ‘You shall be shepherd of my people Israel, and you shall be prince over Israel.’” So all the elders of Israel came to the king at Hebron, and King David made a covenant with them at Hebron before the Lord, and they anointed David king over Israel. David was thirty years old when he began to reign, and he reigned forty years. At Hebron he reigned over Judah seven years and six months, and at Jerusalem he reigned over all Israel and Judah thirty-three years.

2 Samuel 5:9-12 (ESV)

And David lived in the stronghold and called it the city of David. And David built the city all around from the Millo inward. 10 And David became greater and greater, for the Lord, the God of hosts, was with him.  11 And Hiram king of Tyre sent messengers to David, and cedar trees, also carpenters and masons who built David a house. 12 And David knew that the Lord had established him king over Israel, and that he had exalted his kingdom for the sake of his people Israel.

S – II Samuel 5:10 – And David became greater and greater, for the Lord, the God of hosts, was with him.

O – As I read from my study Bible this morning, I saw a note that gave three reasons why the tribes recognized David as King over Israel.   One – he was “of their own flesh and blood” (v. 1).  David was an Israelite.  Two –  He had “led Israel on their military campaign” (v. 2).  He was already an established military leader.   Three – “the Lord said…. ‘You will shepherd My people Israel, and you will become their ruler.’” (v. 2). God’s desire was that David be king – shepherd of the nation of Israel.   I find it interesting that God mentions that David be a shepherd-King.   He had prepared for this role AS a faithful shepherd in his younger years.

David became more and more powerful – as a leader, as King.   Why?  Because the LORD God Almighty was with him.  “The Lord was with him” was also said of Samuel (I Sam. 3:2), but was said of David at least five times (I Sam. 16:18; 17:37; 18:12,14,28; as well as this verse II Sam. 5:10).  It is interesting that the other times mentioned are all BEFORE he was crowned king!

A – “The Lord was with Him.”   What does that mean for me, today?  “If God be for us, who can be against us?” (Rom. 8:31). “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.”  (Phil. 4:13).  I know that whatever God asks of me, He will equip me, and be with me – through the whole process.   I may not be king, but God asks me to be faithful in the things that He HAS given me.   But, success comes only with KNOWING, BELIEVING and ACTING in that fact:  “THe Lord is with me.”    Because – He says, “I will never leave or forsake you.”   (Deut. 31:6).  God keeps His promises!   He will NOT leave me.  He is with me.  He will equip me.   That brings to mind the quote, “God does not call the equipped.   He equips the called.”

Even though the kingdom had been promised to David when Samuel anointed him, David had to wait many years to finally see the promise over his life fulfilled. Does God have you in a period of waiting? What do you think He is teaching you during this time?   While I am not in a period of waiting, now, there have been long times of waiting in my life.   I can think of two right away.  One was after the Christian School closed, and I was unemployed for just over a year.   I learned to wait – to wait for a job, for ministry opportunities, for fulfillment.   I coined the phrase “actively waiting” – to continually point out to me that while I was waiting, I had to actively seek the Lord, actively seek employment, to actively minister.  It was a time of restoration and healing.   The second was while I was a single mom, and really desired to be married, to have a partner in life, I did not see anyone in my life that I felt that God was leading me to.  I claimed Psalm 37:4 – “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  I knew that if I was doing what He had for me to do, where He had placed me, then if He had, in His perfect plan for me, someone to love and to be loved by, THEN, He would provide – in His time, in His way, His person, without me looking in the wrong places.   And – He did.  When I least expected it.  Who I least expected to meet.  And – His perfect person – for me.  We are not perfect.  But, I recognize that God provided Paul – in my life, where I was, and someone whose gifts and talents and abilities and values complement mine.  God did give the desires of my heart.   But – in His time, and in His way.  And – waiting over thirty years for Paul was entirely worth the wait!

P – Father God, You have promised to be with me, to never leave me.   Thank You for that promise.  I claim it today.   Thank You for Your faithfulness through the years.   You have walked with me through many challenges, helping me to see Your power at work, not only in Your Word and in others, but also in me.  Father, take my life, and use it for Your glory.  May it be said of me, “the Lord was with Karen.”  Equip me for Your work today.   Amen.

He is With Us – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6mEQS2fsWE

Remember when
Your hope is lost and faith is shaken
Remember when
You wonder if you’re gonna make it
There’s a hand stretched out
Through your deepest doubt

We can’t pretend
To see the ending or what’s coming up ahead
Don’t know the story of tomorrow
But we can stay close
To the One who knows

CHORUS
We can trust our God
He knows what He’s doing
Though it might hurt now
We won’t be ruined
It might seem there’s an ocean in between
But He’s holding onto you and me
And He’s never gonna leave, no
He is with us, He is with us, always, always
He is with us, He is with us, always

We believe
There is purpose, there is meaning
In everything
We surrender to His leading
He wants nothing more
Than to have us close

CHORUS

Our faith is sealed
Our hope is real
Come what may
We’re not afraid

We can trust our God, always, always
We can trust our God, always, always

CHORUS

He is with us, He is with us, always, always
He is with us, He is with us, always
Our God is with us

 

Leave a Reply

