Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The Shepherd Boy – Day 5

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5 – Psalm 100 – SOAP Psalm 100:3 WK1D5

Psalm 100 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGKlpB_5ADg

Psalm 100 (ESV)
Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth!
2 Serve the LORD with gladness!
Come into his presence with singing!
3 Know that the LORD, he is God!
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.
4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name!
5 For the LORD is good;
his steadfast love endures forever,
and his faithfulness to all generations.

S – 3 Know that the LORD, he is God!
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

O – I love this psalm of David’s.  It’s one that I memorized with you second graders each year.  A psalm of praise – to the Lord, our shepherd.   It is full of imperatives: make (a joyful noise), serve (the Lord with gladness), come (into His presence), know (that He is God), enter (into His gates with thanksgiving), give (thanks to Him), and bless (His name).  Hmmm….. Make, serve, come, know, enter, give, bless…..   All directed to Him!   WHY?   Because He is Good.  His steadfast love endures forever.   His faithfulness reaches to all generations.   Good.   Steadfast.  Faithful.  That is God – our Shepherd.

A – Since I know this – do I obey?   Do I make a joyful noise – praising Him?   Is my praise joyful?  My singing, my playing, my offers of thanksgiving?   Do I serve Him with gladness?   Am I glad TO serve Him?  Or – do I grumble?   Do I come into His presence with singing?   Or mumbling?  Do I recognize WHO He is – and live my life – knowing who lives in me?  Am I thankful?  For EVERYTHING?  Do I come to Him with thanksgiving – or do I present my litany of requests?   Do I bless Him?  Do I speak highly of Him to others?    Looking at these questions, and thinking about them, I know that it is a inventory of my heart, again.  These are heart actions….. Flowing from what is going on inside.   As His sheep – I need to KNOW who my shepherd is… And follow Him, each day, each hour, each moment.

P – Father God, You are my shepherd.  Help me to follow You – to live my life in obedience to Your Word.  Remind me, prick my conscience, when I follow my own way.  May my heart be joyful, willing to serve, entering Your presence, knowing that You are God, giving thanks to You, and blessing Your name.   May my heart reflect Your presence, Your shepherding, Your love – to others, and to YOU, today.

Psalm 100 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGKlpB_5ADg

Leave a Reply

