Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The Shepherd Boy – Day 4

Leave a comment

Week one – Day 4 – Isaiah 40:9 – 11 SOAP Is. 40:9-11WK1D4

Marty Nystrom- Shepherd Of My Soul (Medley) Songs of Peace (Hosanna! Music) –

Isaiah 40:9-11

9 Go on up to a high mountain,
O Zion, herald of good news;
lift up your voice with strength,
O Jerusalem, herald of good news;
lift it up, fear not;
say to the cities of Judah,
“Behold your God!”
10 Behold, the Lord GOD comes with might,
and his arm rules for him;
behold, his reward is with him,
and his recompense before him.
11 He will tend his flock like a shepherd;
he will gather the lambs in his arms;
he will carry them in his bosom,
and gently lead those that are with young.

O – Oh, the tenderness of God.   After seeing all those “I WILL’s” yesterday, today I see God’s protective and tender nature.  He “comes with might”.   “His arm rules for Him.”  Yet – “He will tend his flock like a shepherd.”  Look at those verbs – tend, gather, carry, gently lead…    What a contrast to mighty and ruling!!  Yet, God shows His tenderness towards us.

A – All this passage of the descriptors of God  lead us to a response….   To “lift up your voice, fear not…. “.   And “Behold your God.”  Announce His presence.  Go up to a high mountain and shout it out.  Be a herald of good news.

Do I lift up my voice to those around me?  Do I let them know that God is tender and caring and loving AND mighty and ruling?  Is my natural response to shout out who HE is?  As I look around me today, while in the Smoky Mountains, and see all of God’s creation around me, am I shouting out – “He made this!”?  A couple of comments that I did make to people elicited a deflecting response…   “Mother Nature.”   “Nature did this.”   Not – agreement that God’s artistry was at work.   Yet – in the small flowers, I see His gentleness and care.  But so many people were just walking by them, not noticing those small demonstrations of His creativity.  Maybe our stopping to comment and take photos of small flowers along the way made others consider.   But – I see His tenderness and care in these, just as much as I have seen His tenderness and care in my life.  I need to “shout it out” though.  Not keep it to myself, but let others know of my tender, compassionate God, my Shepherd.

P – Father God, today I saw so many demonstrations of YOur love and care in our environment.  I see it in tiny flowers, or trees growing in crevices of rocks.  I see it in a thundering falls and babbling brooks, with butterflies dancing over them.  Father, You care for me so much more than these demonstrations of Your creativity.  You sent Your Son.  You shepherd me.  YOu love me beyond measure.   Thank You for Your tenderness and mercy.

Marty Nystrom- Shepherd Of My Soul (Medley) Songs of Peace (Hosanna! Music) –

Leave a Reply

