Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

David – The Shepherd Boy – Day 2

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2 – Read I Sam. 17:12-15; 32-37 SOAP I Sam. 17:14-15

WK1D2
1 Samuel 17:12-15 (ESV)
12 Now David was the son of an Ephrathite of Bethlehem in Judah,named Jesse, who had eight sons. In the days of Saul the man was already old and advanced in
years. 13 The three oldest sons of Jesse had followed Saul to the battle. And the names of his three sons who went to the battle were Eliab the firstborn, and next to him Abinadab, and the third Shammah. 14 David was the youngest. The three eldest followed Saul, 15 but David went back and forth from Saul to feed his father’s sheep at Bethlehem.
1 Samuel 17:32-37 (ESV)
32 And David said to Saul, “Let no man’s heart fail because of him. Your servant will go and fight with this Philistine.”33 And Saul said to David, “You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him, for you are but a youth, and he has been a man of war from his youth.”34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant used to keep sheep for his father. And when there came a lion, or a bear, and took a lamb from the flock, 35 I went after him and struck him and delivered it out of his mouth. And if he arose against me, I caught him by his beard and struck him and killed him. 36Your servant has struck down both lions and bears, and this uncircumcised Philistine shall be like one of them, for he has defied the armies of the living God.”37 And David said, “The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the LORD be with you!”

S – 14 David was the youngest. The three eldest followed Saul, 15 but David went back and forth from Saul to feed his father’s sheep at Bethlehem.

O – Even though David has been anointed as coming king of Israel, he was faithful in the things that he was committed to.  He went back and forth to his father’s house to take care of the sheep.  That was his job, so he did it.  He didn’t stop because he had been anointed.Three of his older brothers went to serve with Saul.   David did go back and forth, but he didn’t neglect his first responsibilities.

When Saul needed someone to fight the Philistines (think…. Goliath…), David volunteered.   He had experience of killing both lions and bears – what more could Goliath do??  He knew that Goliath had defiled God’s armies, so David knew that God could, and would, help him deliver him from Goliath’s hand.  He trusted in God.

A – Faithfulness.   Responsibility.  Carrying though.  David was faithful in those little things – so that he could be prepared for the responsibility of being Israel’s King.  Do I take what God gives me – and follow through?   Or do I flit to the next thing?  I’d like to think that I am faithful – and complete tasks that God gives before moving on to something “more important.”  Part of that is my training in my family (“anything worth doing is worth doing right…”) and part of it is just my makeup.  I’m more apt to take too much on, and stress over it all, rather than to neglect something that I committed to.    But, I need to realize, in this season of life, that I need to follow through with commitments.  I seem to be on the right pathway in this, but I will need to monitor it closely.

God cares more about the condition of our hearts than He cares about how we appear on the outside. David was the youngest, and yet God chose him over his older, bigger brothers. How does this truth encourage your heart today?   I know that the heart is the inner part of me – what does not show to others.  I also know that whatever is in my heart, will come out in my actions and words, and attitudes.  That is what God cares about.  When I think about the people that God used – sinners, prostitutes, liars, adulterers, the poor, the humble, a Moabite, shepherds, fishermen – God used all sorts of people, people that had a heart for him, or people that had their hearts changed by Him.  God can use me too.  I don’t have to be rich, or famous, or popular.  I have to be a woman after God’s heart.   That’s it.  That DOES encourage me!’

P – Father God, thank You that You can use me – just as I am, just who I am, and despite of who I am.  Keep me in Your circle of protection.   Help me to give each day to you, the mundane and the ordinary, the special and the extra-ordinary.  Father, help me to be faithful in the small things.  I want to be used by You – each day.   Give me the strength to remain in You – to abide in You, so that I can be used by You.

Leave a Reply

