Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 5 – Ecclesiastes  12:13-14   SOAP v. 13-14WK8D5

13 The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. 14 For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.

O – It’s the end of Ecclesiastes, and Solomon finally writes the summary of what he thinks is true in his life.  After deciding that life is vanity, chasing the wind, he states the truth – all the end, what matters is God.  Fear God and keep His commands.  THIS is the whole duty of man.  It’s similar to the saying )I forget where it is from….   What is the chief end of man?  To glorify God and enjoy Him forever!  YES!

A – I am glad that Solomon FINALLY writes the positive side of life.  Life IS WORTH living – living in God’s grace.  To fear God (love Him, look at Him in awe, live according to His word) and to keep His commandments, as found in His Word.  YES!   I am reminded of the verse that has impacted my life so many ways over the past few years… “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires your heart.”  (Psalm 37:4).  BUT – it is in the delighting, living in, living according to – that our heart lines up with His desires.  So – our desires line up with His.  His desires become ours – IF we are delighting in Him!  This is the crux of the matter.  To glorify Him and enjoy Him – forever!

P – Father God, thank You for Your Word.  Struggling through Ecclesiastes IS worth it – coming to this end.  To know You, delight in You, to be in awe of You – it is such a blessing.  Thank You for Your fiathfulness, as seen in Your word.  Help me to living according to Your word, not only today, but every day.  I know that You will evaluate all of us in the end.  Search me, O God, and know my heart.  Try me, and know my thoughts.   And lead me in the way everlasting.  Thank You, Father for searching, trying, and leading me.  Amen.

You are Awesome in this Place Mighty God – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faiLQCuoskM

As I come into Your presence
Past the gates of praise
Into Your sanctuary
Til we’re standing face to face
I look upon Your countenance
I see the glory of Your Holy face
I can only bow down and say…

You are awesome in this place, Mighty God
You are awesome in this place, Abba Father
You are worthy of all praise
To You our hands we raise
You are awesome in this place, Mighty God

Leave a Reply

