Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 12:9-12

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 4 – Ecclesiastes 12:9 – 12  SOAP v. 11WK8D4

Besides being wise, the Preacher also taught the people knowledge, weighing and studying and arranging many proverbs with great care.10 The Preacher sought to find words of delight, and uprightly he wrote words of truth.

11 The words of the wise are like goads, and like nails firmly fixed are the collected sayings; they are given by one Shepherd. 12 My son, beware of anything beyond these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is a weariness of the flesh.

O – As Solomon comes to the end of his writings (and – the end of his life…), he realizes that he had to have used wisdom to teach the people, and evaluating proverbs.  He sought words carefully.  The “words of the wise are like cattle prods – painful but helpful.  Their collected saysing are like a nail studded stick with which a shepherd drives the sheep.” (V. 11 – NLT).  The words of the wise are “prodding” – they make us “move” and think and rethink – and change our ways, just like cattle prods make cattle move and change their direction.  Firmly fixed nails….   Keep buildings and furniture together so that they are useful.  Given by the One Shepherd.   By God.   His words are fixed.  They are useful.   They will endure forever.  They are sharper than a two edged sword.  But – here’s the warning….”Beware of anything beyond these….”   Watch out for “additions” to the Word!

A –  I need to be careful when interpreting the Word – nothing added or taken from it.  Typically, I look at the scriptures and compare different versions to see what the Word says.   Sometimes, I look at commentaries and Strong’s concordance.   I pray for God’s revealing and understanding of His word.

But I also see God’s Word as living and active – and sharper than an two edged sword.  It “speaks” to me – and is useful for teaching correcting, reproof and training in righteousness.   It is God’s Word – for me. When I read it, I am convicted of what I am doing – either wrong attitudes or wrong actions.  Right actions and attitudes are confirmed.   I cling to the promises.  And, I am able to teach after I study His Word.  I have seen how God’s Word comforts others, especially in grief or sorrow.  It helps in raising children – or in knowing how to treat others.  NO OTHER book can do all this!

P – Father – keep me in Your word.  Help me to live it, and apply it to my heart.  May I delight in You – and find Your word as living and active.  Thank You for using it to speak to me – and for prompting me to change my actions and attitudes.  Father, I need your Word.  May I crave it, and depend upon it.  Thank You for giving it to me.  Give me understanding and knowlge how to apply it to my life.

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  (Heb. 4:12 – ESV)

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,”. (II Tim. 3:16 – ESV)

Lord I Need You – Chris Tomlin – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rR_Rdb1CTE

Verse 1:
Lord I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the one that guides my heart

Chorus:
Lord, I need You, oh I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Verse 2:
Where sin runs deep, Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are Lord I am free
Holiness is Christ in me
Yes where You are Lord I am free
Holiness is Christ in me

Bridge:
So teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus You’re my hope and stay
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus You’re my hope and stay

Leave a Reply

