Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 12: 1 – 8

Leave a comment

Week  Eight – Day 3 – Ecclesiastes 12:1 – 8  SOAP v. 1,2WK8D3

12 Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near of which you will say, “I have no pleasure in them”; before the sun and the light and the moon and the stars are darkened and the clouds return after the rain, in the day when the keepers of the house tremble, and the strong men are bent, and the grinders cease because they are few, and those who look through the windows are dimmed, and the doors on the street are shut—when the sound of the grinding is low, and one rises up at the sound of a bird, and all the daughters of song are brought low— they are afraid also of what is high, and terrors are in the way; the almond tree blossoms, the grasshopper drags itself along, and desire fails, because man is going to his eternal home, and the mourners go about the streets— before the silver cord is snapped, or the golden bowl is broken, or the pitcher is shattered at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the cistern, and the dust returns to the earth as it was, and the spirit returns to God who gave it. Vanity of vanities, says the Preacher; all is vanity.

O – Remember your Creator in the days of your youth….   Oh, it is SO important for the young to know of Him while they are still young!  It is easier to memorize scripture, learn songs, and remember stories from the word.  There are no great sins to mourn.  Their whole lives are in front of them.  They have a natural curiousity.   Jesus even told his disciples and followers that “unless you turn and become like children you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  (Mat 18:3 – ESV).

A – How do you “remember your Creator in the days of your youth” and “come as a child?”   Do I memorize the word Ike a child?  Do I keep a clean slate?  As I grow older (57, almost 58….), there is less of my life in front of me than behind me.  Am I living it, so as to leave a legacy?  Do I have that natural curiosity of a child when seeking the Word, or discerning ministry?  Do I get excited about what I am reading or learning about spiritually?  Before I am “old” – I want to invest in what is eternal – and lasting!   That is in lives.  I am glad that, in this season of life, God is giving me the time and opportunities to invest in others.   Leading a Bible study, mentoring a few young women, hosting “Friday Night Meatballs,” and being available to help others has brought such joy to my life.  I need to invest in others as long as, and as well as, I can.  With HIS strength and wisdom – and love.

P – Father God – thank You for Your love and patience with me.  Help me to keep the right perspective with my life and time.  I want to use the time that I have – to minister for You.  Help me to invest in ths of people – to love, to minister, to care, to teach, to model Your love.  Father, I want my life to be a legacy for You.

Legacy – Nichole Nordman – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zf-2dKMt0Q

I don’t mind if you’ve got something nice to say about me
And I enjoy an accolade like the rest
And you can take my picture and hang it in a gallery
Of all the Who’s Who’s and So-and-So’s
That used to be the best at such-and-such
It wouldn’t matter much

I won’t lie, it feels all right to see your name in lights

We all need an “atta-boy” or “atta-girl”
But in the end I’d like to hang my hat on more besides
The temporary trappings of this world

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love?
Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace
Who blessed Your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

I don’t have to look too far or too long a while
To make a lengthy list of all that I enjoy
It’s an accumulating trinket and a treasure pile
Where moth and rust, thieves and such
Will soon enough destroy

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love?
Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace
Who blessed Your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

Not well-traveled, not well-read
Not well-to-do or well-bred
Just want to hear instead
Well done, good and faithful one

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love?
Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace
Who blessed Your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

I don’t mind if you’ve got something nice to say about me

Leave a Reply

