Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 11: 5 – 10

Leave a comment

Week Eight  – Day 2 – Ecclesiastes  11:5 – 10 – SOAP v. 8WK8D2

As you do not know the way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child, so you do not know the work of God who makes everything.

In the morning sow your seed, and at evening withhold not your hand, for you do not know which will prosper, this or that, or whether both alike will be good.

Light is sweet, and it is pleasant for the eyes to see the sun.

So if a person lives many years, let him rejoice in them all; but let him remember that the days of darkness will be many. All that comes is vanity.

Rejoice, O young man, in your youth, and let your heart cheer you in the days of your youth. Walk in the ways of your heart and the sight of your eyes. But know that for all these things God will bring you into judgment.

10 Remove vexation from your heart, and put away pain from your body, for youth and the dawn of life are vanity.

O – We cannot possibly understand the ways of God, according to Solomon.  No, indeed, we can’t, as God’s ways and thoughts higher than ours.  No, we don’t know the future, but we know that God’s ways and God’s plans are for our good, not for our harm.  (Jeremiah 29:11). In all of this, we are told to rejoice in the time that we have – “many years” and “in the days of your youth.”  We are to walk in the “ways of your heart” and in the “sight of your eyes.”  We need to have a balanced view of our lives – not too important, but also important enough so as not to waste them.

A – Rejoice in our days.  Rejoice in the time that God gives us – no matter how long it is.  Relationships are important.   Develop them wisely.  Choose wisely.  Rejoice in the time that we have.  We don’t know the hour of our demise, but it will be sooner than we think!

But Solomon also says that some of the days will be “dark.”  Yes, some of our days ARE dark!  I have had dark days.  They have served to strengthen me, teach me, help me depend on Him, learn to wait, and to give me new perspective.  They have saved me from myself.  Divorce.  Death.  Accidents.   Pre-mature birth.  Miscarriage.  Unemployment.  Singleness.  Betrayal.  yes – all of these have helped to mold and shape me into the woman that I am today.  I see in that passage from Isaiah – again – that God’s Word does not return empty, but will accomplish what HE has purposes.  Yes, those days did – along with His promises  be with me through them all.  His purpose was to bring me to the place where HE is glorified.  To bring me to the place to depend on HIM – and Him alone.  To bring me to the place to “walk in the ways of HIS heart.”  That is my prayer today – to walk in the ways of His heart.

P – Father God, thank You for all the days of my life.  Those times of rejoicing in my youth, and in the “good” times sthat You provided.  But, I also thank You for the times that were dark – when I learned to depend upon You , to call upon You, to wait on You.  Thank You for all of them, for they molded and shaped me into who I am today.  Father, keep my eyes on You, my heart focused on You.  Help me to walk in the “ways of Your heart.” Today and tomorrow, and each day that You give me.  Thank You for this time of blessing in my life.  Help me to be a blessing o others today.   Amen.

My life is but a weaving, between my God and me,

I do not choose the colors, He worketh steadily.

Ofttimes he weaveth sorrow, and I in foolish pride

Forget He sees the upper, and I the underside.

Not till the loom is silent, and the shuttles cease to fly,

Will God unroll the canvas, and explain the reasons why

The dark threads are as needful in the skillful weaver’s hand

As threads of gold and silver in the pattern He has planned.

 

He knows, He loves, He cares,

Nothing this truth can dim.

He gives His very best to those

Who leave the choice with Him.

 

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return there but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.”  (Isaiah 55: 8 – 11 ESV).

Rejoice Ye Pure in Heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_GBKSqtgvI

1 Rejoice, O pure in heart,
rejoice, give thanks, and sing;
your festal banner wave on high,
the cross of Christ your King.

Refrain:
Rejoice, rejoice, rejoice, give thanks, and sing!

2 Bright youth and snow-crowned age,
both men and women, raise
on high your free, exulting song,
declare God’s wondrous praise. [Refrain]

3 Still lift your standard high,
still chanting as you go,
from youth to age, by night and day,
in gladness and in woe. [Refrain]

4 At last the march shall end;
the wearied ones shall rest,
the pilgrims reach their home at last,
Jerusalem the blest. [Refrain]

5 Praise God, who reigns on high,
the Lord whom we adore:
the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost,
one God forevermore. [Refrain]

Psalter Hymnal, 1987

Leave a Reply

