Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 11:1 – 4

Leave a comment

Week Eight  – Day 1 – Ecclesiastes  11:1 – 4 SOAP v. 4WK8D1

11 Cast your bread upon the waters,
for you will find it after many days.
Give a portion to seven, or even to eight,
for you know not what disaster may happen on earth.
If the clouds are full of rain,
they empty themselves on the earth,
and if a tree falls to the south or to the north,
in the place where the tree falls, there it will lie.
He who observes the wind will not sow,
and he who regards the clouds will not reap.

O – It seems that Solomon is talking about faith here.      It’s a series of “if….then…”  If you cast your bread upon the waters….. Is this the possibility of the “fleece”, as in Gideon?   Maybe.  However, Solomon is talking about natural effects.   “If the clouds are full, then they will empty themselves on the earth.”  Then – if you keep looking at the wind, you will not sow the seed.  IN other words, if you keep just looking – you won’t get anything done!  If you keep looking at the clouds – you won’t reap.  You have to work!  Spurgeon’s comment is priceless here….  (Paraphrased….   If God tells you to do something, and you wait, or wait until “ideal” conditions, it is disobedience. ). Ouch!   If God says to do something, if He puts that urge into you – obey.  Right away!

A – I have been aware lately of my needed obedience to the promptings of the Holy Spirit.   How many times do I sense that “urge” to do something, either in obedience or to minister to someone?   I am becoming aware of the need to obey WHEN I get that sense.  Will that opportunity pass, or go away?  If I don’t obey, then the opportunity will pass.  A friend of mine had that sense lately – to go see her friend, who was dying of cancer.  She went, and ministered to her friend – and two days later, her friend passed away.  If she didn’t obey, she wouldn’t have that opportunity to bless – and be blessed herself.

So – do I listen carefully – and obey?  Or, do I “observe the wind?”  I don’t want the “whole autumn to pass without one handful of grain reaching the furrows….”  (Meyer)  New challenge – to respond – right away.  To not “think it over” or procrastinate.  To check my feelings with scripture.  To ask myself, ‘Is this what God is calling me to do?’  I don’t want to miss an opportunity to minister!

P – Father God – impress on my soul today Your heart.   What would YOU have me to do?   Keep my soul awake and alert to Your call, to Your prompting.  Thank You for this reminder, so I can minister in Your name more effectively and timely.   May I not be lax.   May I not procrastinate.  May I readily heed Your call. May You be honored and glorified by my actions and attitude today.  Amen.

  1. He who observes the wind will not sow: The farmer who is overly analytical about the wind or the clouds will never plant his fields, and thus he will not reap. The Preacher gently pushes us away from an overly analytical approach to life.
  2. “If we are always waiting for favouring conditions, we shall resemble the farmer who is ever looking out for perfect weather, and lets the whole autumn pass without one handful of grain reaching the furrows.” (Meyer)
  3. “If we keep on observing circumstances, instead of trusting God, we shall be guilty of disobedience. God bids me sow: I do not sow, because the wind would blow some of my seed away. God bids me reap: I do not reap, because there is a black cloud there, and before I can house the harvest, some of it may be spoiled. I may say what I like; but I am guilty of disobedience.” (Spurgeon)

iii. Spurgeon went on in that sermon (Sowing in the Wind, Reaping Under Clouds) to describe other ways that this attitude sins against God and man. To observe circumstances instead of trusting God shows unbelief, rebellion, foolish fear, and idleness

Here I Am Lord – http://youtu.be/K6fYAiqV-B

I, the Lord of sea and sky,

I have heard My people cry.

All who dwell in dark and sin,

My hand will save.

I who made the stars of night,

I will make their darkness bright.

Who will bear My light to them?

Whom shall I send?

 

Here I am Lord, Is it I, Lord?

I have heard You calling in the night.

I will go Lord, if You lead me.

I will hold Your people in my heart.

I, the Lord of snow and rain,

I have borne my people’s pain.

I have wept for love of them, They turn away.

I will break their hearts of stone,

Give them hearts for love alone.

I will speak My word to them

Whom shall I send?

 

Here I am Lord, Is it I, Lord?

I have heard You calling in the night.

I will go Lord, if You lead me.

I will hold Your people in my heart.

 

Still – Hillsong – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHATCAvlqQA

Hide me now
Under Your wings
Cover me
Within Your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father you are King over the flood
I will be still, know You are God

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still, know You are God [x2]

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still, know You are God [x2]WK8D1

Leave a Reply

