Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 10:8-15

Leave a comment

Ecclesiastes 10:8 – 15  SOAP v. 12-13WK7D4

He who digs a pit will fall into it,
and a serpent will bite him who breaks through a wall.
He who quarries stones is hurt by them,
and he who splits logs is endangered by them.
10 If the iron is blunt, and one does not sharpen the edge,
he must use more strength,
but wisdom helps one to succeed.
11 If the serpent bites before it is charmed,
there is no advantage to the charmer.

12 The words of a wise man’s mouth win him favor,
but the lips of a fool consume him.
13 The beginning of the words of his mouth is foolishness,
and the end of his talk is evil madness.
14 A fool multiplies words,
though no man knows what is to be,
and who can tell him what will be after him?
15 The toil of a fool wearies him,
for he does not know the way to the city.

O – We see Solomon’s wisdom coming out here in this passage.  It’s much like reading Proverbs.  They make sense!   It’s a series of cause and effect – and using wisdom helps us to avoid negative consequences:  digging a pit and falling into it, breaking down a wall only to have a snake bite, using a blunt knife needs more strength to wield it, using an untrained snake for magic will only lead to bites.

BUT – words. Words cannot be taken back once spoken.  SO – the words of a wise man win favor.  The words of a fool will “eat him.”  From just plain foolishness to evil madness, the words of a fool will bring trouble.  The excess of words of a fool just add to his foolishness.  He can’t even find “his way home” – he is THAT foolish.

A – How careful we must be of our words!  I would rather be known for my wise words, few that they may be, than an excess of foolish talk!  And – to be wise, I need to seek the SOURCE of wisdom, my Father God Himself.  He promised wisdom – if we ask for it.  In James, it says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.  (James 1:5 – ESV)  There is no need to be foolish!  But – it also means to keep a watch on our mouths, to think before speaking, to not go “on and on,” and to “let our words be few.”  Psalm 141:3 sates, “Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouthkeep watch over the door of my lips!” (ESV)  We can’t do this on our own!  The fool doesn’t realize this.

P – Father God, thank You for this reminder of the importance of my speech.  Father, give me wisdom in my words.  May they be pleasing to others, but more importantly, to You.  Set a guard over my mouth – so that I do not speak rashly, or in a way that would bring dishonor to You.  May my words today be encouraging, supportive, and loving.  When, or if, I need to confront, help me to do that with love.  Father, walk with me on this journey in learning to seek You in ALL that I do.  And yes, may the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart bless Your name – and the deeds of the day and the truth in my ways speak of You.  Amen.

May the Words of my Mouth – Tim Hughes – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvNXs71SjkQ&nohtml5=False

Verse 1
May the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart
Bless Your name, bless Your name, Jesus
And the deeds of the day and the truth in my ways
Speak of You, speak of You, Jesus

Chorus
For this is what I’m glad to do
It’s time to live a life of love that pleases You
And I will give my all to You
Surrender everything I have and follow You
I’ll follow You

Verse 2
Lord, will You be my vision, Lord, will You be my guide
Be my hope, be my light and the way
And I’ll look not for riches, nor praises on earth
Only You’ll be the first of my heart

I will follow
I will follow
I will follow You

Leave a Reply

