Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 9:1 – 6

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 5 -Ecclesiastes 9:1 -6WK6D5

But all this I laid to heart, examining it all, how the righteous and the wise and their deeds are in the hand of God. Whether it is love or hate, man does not know; both are before him. It is the same for all, since the same event happens to the righteous and the wicked, to the good and the evil, to the clean and the unclean, to him who sacrifices and him who does not sacrifice. As the good one is, so is the sinner, and he who swears is as he who shuns an oath. This is an evil in all that is done under the sun, that the same event happens to all. Also, the hearts of the children of man are full of evil, and madness is in their hearts while they live, and after that they go to the dead. But he who is joined with all the living has hope, for a living dog is better than a dead lion. For the living know that they will die, but the dead know nothing, and they have no more reward, for the memory of them is forgotten. Their love and their hate and their envy have already perished, and forever they have no more share in all that is done under the sun.

O – Solomon, in his search for meaning, and his “under the sun” philosophy, sees no difference between good and evil man, saints and sinners, love or hate – all come to the same end.   He sees that nothing matters – except living the moment, as he thinks that it is all that man has.  I see also a view of God that has Him watching from a disinterested distance.  All this brings is a fatalistic attitude and hopelessness.  It doesn’t seem to matter how good you are, how evil men are, because all men are bent towards evil.  And, in the end, everyone dies – and THIS IS IT.   Hopeless.

A – TO be honest, I am SO ready to finish Ecclesiastes!  It is difficult to see the hopelessness, the attitude of “it doesn’t matter”, and the distance of God that is perceived in this book.  BUT – that is what our culture lives every day!  Without a relationship with God, without the saving power of Christ – that is what life is like!  It SHOULD make me want to spread the news and hope of the gospel to everyone I know!

If there is one thing that resonates in my soul, it is this – NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING matters outside of Jesus Christ.  My hope of eternity rests within Him.  My ability to live this life rests in Him.  My outlook on life is because of Him.  My salvation is because of His love for me.  My whole being rests in Him, knowing that there IS meaning because of Him.  “Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.  Because He lives, all fear is gone.  Because I know He holds the future.   And life is worth the living, just because He lives!”  Yes – all is worth living – because HE LIVES!   It is not hopeless.  It is not filled with fear.  It is not just living for the moment.  It is KNOWING that HE LIVES.  And I rest in that.

P – Father God, thank You for this confirmation – that Jesus LIVES.  He lives and reigns – in me.  There is hope, and joy, and a freedom from sin.  Yes, Father, my hope rests firm on Jesus Christ.  Father, help me to run this race of life today, and the next, and the next – however many You give me.  Father, help me to stand firm in times of stress, or trouble, or trial.  Give me YOUR love for others around me.  Help me to spread the news that YOU are alive.  That You care.  That You love.  That there is something beyond this life – life with You.  Thank You for this message today.

MY HOPE RESTS FIRM  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iV-NnherhwM&nohtml5=False

“My Hope Rests Firm”
Words and Music by Keith Getty and Richard Creighton
Copyright © 2001 Kingsway’s Thankyou Music/MCPS

My hope rests firm on Jesus Christ,
He is my only plea.
Though all the world should point and scorn,
His ransom leaves me free;
His ransom leaves me free.

My hope sustains me as I strive
And strain towards the goal;
Though still I stumble into sin,
His death paid for it all;
His death paid for it all.

My hope provides me with a spur
To help me run this race:
I know my tears will turn to joy
The day I see his face;
The day I see his face.

My hope is to be with my Lord,
To know as I am known;
To serve Him gladly all my days
In praise before His throne;
In praise before His throne.

 

Leave a Reply

