Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 8:16-17

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 4 – Ecclesiastes 8:16-17WK6D4

16 When I applied my heart to know wisdom, and to see the business that is done on earth, how neither day nor night do one’s eyes see sleep, 17 then I saw all the work of God, that man cannot find out the work that is done under the sun. However much man may toil in seeking, he will not find it out. Even though a wise man claims to know, he cannot find it out.

O – Solomon is humanly trying to apply wisdom, to find wisdom, to understand life – seemingly to the point of being unable to sleep.  When he saw all that God had done, he realized that he (man) would not be able to understand it.  Seeking to understand life, the work of God, the eternal – CANNOT be done apart from God!   He will not be able to find it: “His conclusion is that we must be content not to know everything. Neither hard work (toil), persistent endeavour (seeking), skill or experience (wisdom) will unravel the mystery. Wise men may make excessive claims; they too will be baffled.” (Eaton) – {David Guzik – BlueletterBible)

A – There have been times that I, too, have not been able to sleep due to worry, or restlessness, or thinking through some tough issues.  Humanly, those times are hard!  It is in realizing that I need to “give them over” to God – that I am able to rest.  But, there are also those “desert times” – times of dry-ness, weariness, and lack of resources (physically, spiritually, emotionally) – that I need to go to Him – empty, to be filled.

ONLY in God do we will relief for weariness, balm for our spirits, and calm in the storms of life.  Calling out to Him, as David did in the psalms, will bring His release.  No wonder Solomon could not find release – He was trying to figure out life on his own.   Only in God do we have meaning.  The song below puts into words what I cannot today.  But, I can say – Only God can fill our souls.  Only God can bring rest.  Only God restores.  Only God provides grace and mercy.  Only God gives us power to go on.  Only God brings true delight.  Only God gives wisdom beyond our human understanding.   Only God has the power to raise from the dead.  Only God brings hope, anticipation, realization of eternity – with Him.  When I am weary, I need to go to Him, and find rest.  I do not have to understand Him fully to do this.  I just have to know that He is God, and I am not.  He. Is. God.

P – Father God, thank You for Your promises in Your Word.  “Come unto me, those who are weary and heavy laden, and I will bring you rest.”  “I will never leave or forsake you.”  “If you confess your sins, He is faithful and just, and will forgive us our sins and cleanse us from unrighteousness.”  Father – You are faithful.  You give rest.  You grant forgiveness.  You love me beyond measure.  Thank You.  Keep my eyes attuned to You today.  May my life be a living sacrifice to You today.

My Soul Longs for the Lord in a Weary Land –https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avFBQh0iWMI

My soul longs for The Lord in a weary land
Wells are dry and I am empty,
Only dust in my hands.
How I yearn for streams of mercy
Where my soul can be restored
‘Come and drink’ Jesus calls me,
‘and you will thirst no more’
Oh the fullness of Christ
Word of God Word of life

Living Word you walked among us, our Emmanuel
And you spoke into the darkness
Broke the powers of hell
Grace and mercy flowed from Calv’ry
To the valley of our need
It is done, ‘It is finished’,
From every sin set free
Oh the victory of Christ
Word of God, Word of life

How often in the stillness have I heard your voice
Every whisper every promise calls my heart to rejoice
In the quiet of the morning, through the watches of the night
In the fire of my struggles,
There’s courage for the fight
Oh the power of Christ
Word of God, Word of life

My soul longs to walk closer with The Lord I serve
More than riches, more than favor
I delight in Your Word
Turn my gaze from all that’s worthless
Set my heart on things above
May my life tell Your goodness
Your way of truth and love
Oh the wisdom of Christ
Word of God, word of life

My soul longs for the day I will see your face
Hear Your shout of jubilation,
No more tears, death or pain
Every word at last accomplished
Heaven sings and earth replies
To our God be the glory let all creation cry
Praise and honor to Christ
Word of God Word of life

Leave a Reply

