Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 8:1 – 9

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 1- Ecclesiastes 8:1 – 9  SOAP v. 4,5WK6D1

Who is like the wise?
And who knows the interpretation of a thing?
A man’s wisdom makes his face shine,
and the hardness of his face is changed.

I say: Keep the king’s command, because of God’s oath to him. Be not hasty to go from his presence. Do not take your stand in an evil cause, for he does whatever he pleases. For the word of the king is supreme, and who may say to him, “What are you doing?” Whoever keeps a command will know no evil thing, and the wise heart will know the proper time and the just way. For there is a time and a way for everything, although man’s trouble lies heavy on him. For he does not know what is to be, for who can tell him how it will be? No man has power to retain the spirit, or power over the day of death. There is no discharge from war, nor will wickedness deliver those who are given to it. All this I observed while applying my heart to all that is done under the sun, when man had power over man to his hurt.

O – Solomon takes some time to give advice about relating to the king.  (He WAS a king!)  First of all, it is difficult to find a wise person – even a king.  But he gives “pearls of wisdom” to follow…..

  • Wisdom changes your face – it makes it shine – and softens it!
  • Obey the king’s commands – it is also part of your loyalty to God. (In the OT days, people swore loyalty to the king before God…. David Guzik – BLBible)
  • Don’t rush away from the king’s presence, or stand your ground in a cause that is evil. The king has prerogative in his decisions, so you might regret this!
  • The king’s word goes – not a good idea to question him! He can enforce his word
  • If you obey the king, things will go well for you. Having wisdom, and applying it will help
  • There is a right time and a right way to do things, to deal with things, and wisdom will help you to figure this out
  • No one can know the future….
  • No human has the ability to master the wind, or change the day of our death, or escape war, but also – the wicked will not be rescued by their evil.
  • Solomon “figured this all out” while he was king, and realized that when man has power over other men, it can be detrimental to everyone.

A – The first verse struck me.   I KNOW that my face reflects my thoughts, my attitudes, my feelings.  It is a dead give-away!  What DOES my face reflect today?  Do I reflect God’s love to others, or does it register impatience?   Do I show frustration – or compassion and patience?  Oh, that the lines would fall in pleasant places!

Hmmm….. don’t question the king.   Doing what he says will keep you out of trouble, and “the wise heart will figure out the proper time and proper way to proceed.” (Eccl. 8:5 – the VOICE)   Applying this?   I guess it is the attitude in which we approach ANYONE…. Especially those in authority.   It is one thing to ask questions, it is another to QUESTION.  It is our attitudes that can get us into trouble.  There is a proper way to approach and ask questions, to get clarification, to understand, but it needs to be done with the right attitude.

So – for today, my face gives my emotions away, and my heart gives my attitudes away. I need to watch both – the outer and  the inner life!  I keep coming back to the matter of the heart.  It is where my “real ME” comes out!

P – Father God, You continue to speak to me about the inner life, my heart, and how who I am affects others.  Father, today, may my heart reflect You.  No matter where I am, who I am with, and what I am doing.  May I be a daughter of the King today – shining Your glory and love to those around You.  I need YOU to give me the strength, the boldness, and the love to do this today.  Amen.

I need You every hour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3wSbLa2uGg&list=RDT3wSbLa2uGg#t=45

  1. I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
    No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

    • Refrain:
      I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;
      Every hour I need Thee;
      Oh, bless me now, my Savior,
      I come to Thee.
  2. I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
    Temptations lose their pow’r when Thou art nigh.
  3. I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
    Come quickly and abide, or life is vain.
  4. I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
    And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.
  5. I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
    Oh, make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.
Leave a Reply

