Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 7:25-29

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 5 – Ecclesiastes 7:25-29WK5D5

25 I turned my heart to know and to search out and to seek wisdom and the scheme of things, and to know the wickedness of folly and the foolishness that is madness. 26 And I find something more bitter than death: the woman whose heart is snares and nets, and whose hands are fetters. He who pleases God escapes her, but the sinner is taken by her.27 Behold, this is what I found, says the Preacher, while adding one thing to another to find the scheme of things— 28 which my soul has sought repeatedly, but I have not found. One man among a thousand I found, but a woman among all these I have not found. 29 See, this alone I found, that God made man upright, but they have sought out many schemes.

O – Solomon keeps seeking (searching out) wisdom and “what makes the world go round”, and to understand the connection between of wickedness, foolishness and madness.    He found something more bitter than death:  a woman who entices and traps.  One who is wise and seeks to please God will run from her (like Joseph did from Potipher’s wife), but one who sins is enticed by her.  In his search, Solomon did not find what he was looking for.  (His soul sought it repeatedly…)  He found “one man among a thousand”, but not a woman who understood wisdom.  So – Solomon comes to this conclusion:   God created man and woman, capable of good, but they continue to “go their own way.”  (All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned—every one—to his own way;” – Isaiah 53:6 – ESV)

Where was Solomon looking for wisdom and life meaning?  Was he looking in his harem?  He had so many wives and concubines!  Was his “collection” another search for meaning?  No wonder he was dissatisfied!  It was like he had everything his heart could desire – wealth, possessions, women, palaces, recognition, but NONE of it was fulfilling.  What happened to the wisdom that he asked for – and God granted?  Did he become desensitized?  Just one step away, then another, then another – and then he found himself deep in sin and remorse?

A – What do I take away from today?   A few things….

  • How important it is to keep my relationship to the Lord close – first and foremost. NOTHING, NOTHING, can get away from this!  Nothing will satisfy.  Material possessions, recognition, and “stuff” are fleeting.   My relationship with Him should be enough!
  • I need to be careful in relationships and friendships. Do I let people “drag me down” – or do they build me up?  Will I recognize the signs of a relationship that is not healthy – one that will cause me to do things that I know I shouldn’t  – or develop attitudes that are wrong?  I know that I have been guilty of this in the past, and realize that I need to be careful in this area.
  • I also need to be aware of the dangers of “desensitizing.” When we sin, sometimes it is in a small area, and then it becomes easier to sin again.  It is in NOT SINNING that we don’t get caught in this cycle!  It is being aware of this danger.  Satan knows how to entice each one of us – he knows how to entice ME.  I need to cling to “I have hidden Your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against You.”  (Psalm 119:11)
  • When I am tempted, I need to call upon the Lord. RIGHT THEN.   I need to call upon His word, which I have hidden in my heart.  I need to pray – knowing that He will answer.  I need to RUN from that temptation, turn away from it, get away from it – so that I will not sin.  The temptation is not the sin – giving in to it is.

P – Father God, how You pierce my heart, and help me to recognize my own weaknesses.  Solomon teaches me yet today.  Father, give me the desire to be a woman after Your heart – to seek You first, to delight in You – above all else.  Satisfy me with Your love and what You bless me with.  Deepen my love for You – so that my love for You is above all others.  Keep me within Your safe-keeping.   Give me discernment in my relationships, especially now that I am  developing friendships here in Indy.  Thank You for those You have brought into my life who also seek Your heart.  Deepen these relationships, so that we will build up each other in You.  Father, when I am tempted, prick my conscience.  May the Holy Spirit speak into my life – and may I listen.  Thank You for Your promise to never leave or forsake me.  I cling to that today.

Lord I Need You – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS9e0nxHP-w

 

Lord, I come, I confess

Bowing here I find my rest

Without You I fall apart

You’re the One that guides my heart

 

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You

Every hour I need You

My one defense, my righteousness

Oh God, how I need You

 

Where sin runs deep Your grace is more

Where grace is found is where You are

And where You are, Lord, I am free

Holiness is Christ in me

 

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You

Every hour I need You

My one defense, my righteousness

Oh God, how I need You

 

Teach my song to rise to You

When temptation comes my way

And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You

Jesus, You’re my hope and stay

 

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You

Every hour I need You

My one defense, my righteousness

Oh God, how I need You

 

You’re my one defense, my righteousness

Oh God, how I need You

My one defense, my righteousness

Oh God, how I need You

Leave a Reply

