Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 7: 19 – 24

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 4 – Ecclesiastes 7:19-24   SOAP  v.19-20  WK5D4

19 Wisdom gives strength to the wise man more than ten rulers who are in a city.

20 Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins.

21 Do not take to heart all the things that people say, lest you hear your servant cursing you. 22 Your heart knows that many times you yourself have cursed others.

23 All this I have tested by wisdom. I said, “I will be wise,” but it was far from me. 24 That which has been is far off, and deep, very deep; who can find it out?

O – Wisdom is a strength that goes beyond physical strength.  It is the ability to stand strong, to stand alone, to stand FOR.  One wise man is better than ten rulers of a city – wisdom goes beyond the ability to put human understanding together.  Solomon also recognizes that even wise men sin – his good intentions still lead him into sin.

Solomon also mentions that we shouldn’t “take to heart” – or listen to what others say about us.   Even those things that aren’t true, or are “unflattering” – we shouldn’t listen to it!  We do the same to others!  How many times do we talk about others??

In the end, Solomon tried on his own to be wise – but felt that he failed miserably.  He just couldn’t find the meaning of life – without God!

A – The more I read from Ecclesiastes, the more I realize that there is nothing here on earth “under the sun” that is lasting – except for our relationship with God, and the extent to which we share it with others.  Relationships with people are SO MUCH MORE important than the “stuff we own.”

But there’s another side to this book that I am seeing.  Without God, without depending on Him, I cannot be the woman that God desires me to be.  I am human, I fail, I sin, I fall short.  The redeeming factor?  God CREATES me to be the woman that He desires me to be.  “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.  (II Cor. 5:27 – ESV)  Even though I fail, God has created in me a new creation, the “want to”, the “ability to”, the “heart to” follow Him.  But I also realize that apart from Him, I can’t!  John 15:5 says, “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”  (ESV).  Without Christ, I am powerless to live the life that I am called to.  This grace-filled life is possible because of Christ.  Did Solomon realize that apart from God, he was nothing?   But even David, his father, was a man after God’s heart.   David, the adulterer, the man with a temper and anger, the man who was depressed and anxious – a man after God’s heart.    For when Solomon was old, his wives turned his heart away after other gods; and his heart was not completely devoted to the Lord his God, as was the heart of his father David.  (I Kings 11:4 – ESV)  I want to have a heart that is completely devoted to God.   I am not perfect.  I fail.  I sin.  But, my heart’s desire is to be fully, completely devoted to God – a woman after God’s heart.

The Song “Believe” voices what I cannot put into words today….  I’m a new creation, I’m something more than my past, I am HIS!  “I have been redeemed and my debt is paid.  No matter how I feel on the worst of days.  So when it’s hard to breathe, when I fall apart – Speak Your truth so clear to my doubting heart.”

P – Father God – speak Your truth to me today.  I am Yours.  I am a new creation.  I am redeemed.  I am Your child.  You have a plan for me.  Father, I know that apart from You, I am nothing.  Keep me in You today, so that I will be fully alive, and will bear fruit for You.  Thank You for Your word, that is living and active – and speaks to me today.  Thank You for helping me to recall the truths of Your word today – that I am a new creation in You, and that I can do nothing apart from You.  Father, work in my heart today – that inner part of me, so that I will be fully devoted to You.  May I be a woman after Your heart, clay in Your hands, and the giver of Your love to those I meet today.

All Things New – Believe – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9sOBaJejIt4&nohtml5=False

BELIEVE Lyrics
All Things New

You say that I am new but I just feel old
If you’re alive in my heart, why does it beat this cold?
When the shame’s so real and my faith is a ghost
When the sun won’t rise and I’m all alone

Help me believe I’m a new creation
Help me believe that I’m something more
Than the past that I’ve been carrying
Help me know that I am Yours
I need to hear Your voice speak louder
Than these lies that call my name
‘Cause I wish that I was strong
But I am weak
Help me believe

I have been redeemed and my debt is paid
No matter how I feel on the worst of days
So when it’s hard to breathe
When I fall apart
Speak Your truth so clear
To my doubting heart

Help me believe I’m a new creation
Help me believe that I’m something more
Than the past that I’ve been carrying
Help me know that I am Yours
I need to hear Your voice speak louder
Than these lies that call my name
‘Cause I wish that I was strong
But I am weak
Help me believe

That I am loved
Help me believe that it’s enough
And let my heart find rest in Your promises
God

Help me believe I’m a new creation
Help me believe that I’m something more
Than the past that I’ve been carrying
Help me know that I am Yours
I need to hear Your voice speak louder
Than these lies that call my name
‘Cause I wish that I was strong
But I am weak
Help me believe

Leave a Reply

