Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 6: 7 – 12

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 5 – Ecclesiastes 6:7 – 12   SOAP  v. 10-11WK4D5

All the toil of man is for his mouth, yet his appetite is not satisfied.For what advantage has the wise man over the fool? And what does the poor man have who knows how to conduct himself before the living?Better is the sight of the eyes than the wandering of the appetite: this also is vanity and a striving after wind.

10 Whatever has come to be has already been named, and it is known what man is, and that he is not able to dispute with one stronger than he. 11 The more words, the more vanity, and what is the advantage to man? 12 For who knows what is good for man while he lives the few days of his vain life, which he passes like a shadow? For who can tell man what will be after him under the sun?

O – Solomon returns to his fatalist attitude:  everything that a man does does not matter.   As the Message puts it:  *We work to feed our appetites; Meanwhile our souls go hungry.” (v. 7)  Both the wise man and the fool, and the poor meet the same end.  They all need to eat, they all are not satisfied.  “What the eyes see [enjoying what is available] is better than [craving] what the soul desires. “  (v. 9 – AMP)  Meeting physical needs does not satisfy the soul!

He also says that he cannot “contend” with God.  God is “stronger” than he.  Yelling at God, hurling words at Him – what good does it do?  Solomon seems to be upset that he is not God, nor can he compete with Him.  Of course we can’t!  He is God, and we are not!  If Solomon would realize WHO GOD IS, he could rest in that.

A – I think it all comes down to knowing God, knowing Who He is, and developing a relationship with Him.  If we do not know Him, as much as we humans can, we cannot possibly understand the circumstances of our lives, the relationships that we have with other people, and we will constantly run from place to place, thing to thing – to satisfy a deep inner longing that ONLY GOD can satisfy!    I have also found that I need to understand that I cannot fully understand God.  Because He is God.  But – He draws us to Him.   I love the passage from Isaiah 55 – where God implores us to seek Him – to call upon Him, return to Him – SO THAT He will have compassion on us.  We will not fully understand Him, but we need to REST in Him.  He calls us to delight in Him, to commit our way to Him, to trust Him (Psalm 37:3 – 6)  From experience, I know that when I do this – I AM SATISFIED.  He is ENOUGH.  He is MORE THAN ENOUGH.  He is EVERYTHING!

6Seek the Lord while he may be found;
call upon him while he is near;
let the wicked forsake his way,
and the unrighteous man his thoughts;
let him return to the Lord, that he may have compassion on him,
and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.  (Isaiah 55:6-9)

 

 

Trust in the Lord, and do good;
dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light,
and your justice as the noonday.  (Psalm 37:3 – 6)

 

P – Father God – You are ENOUGH.  You have given everything to me – my life, my relationships, my eternal life – through Your love and through the sacrifice of Your Son.  Thank You.  Forgive me for the times that I seek satisfaction through my own efforts, not through You and Your provision.  Father, I don’t always understand Your ways, but I have seen how You have worked in my life to bring joy and satisfaction – through You.  Keep me close to You.  Father, You are the giver of all things – blessings and trials, health and sickness, plenty and want, growth and desert times – all for my good.  I see Your Hand in so many times in my life, and looking back, I am so grateful for Your plan, Your love, and Your mercy.  Keep working in my heart – so that I see that You are ENOUGH for every day.    Thank You.

Satisfied (About a Mile)  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdhWaVcr36c&nohtml5=False

Let Your song be the song I sing
Through the blessing and burdens this life will bring
In You alone I’m satisfied

Through the struggles I face
When contentment starts to fade
Through the constant wondering
When my doubt is crippling
This will be my, this will be my prayer

Let Your song be the song I sing
Through the blessings and burdens this life will bring
In You alone I’m satisfied
In You I’m satisfied

I’m letting go of my fears
And believing that You’re here
No matter what my future holds
You are God, You are in control
And this will be my, this will be my prayer

Let Your song be the song I sing
Through the blessings and burdens this life will bring
In You alone I’m satisfied
And all I need is Your sacrifice
I have more than I deserve
You gave me Your life
In You alone I’m satisfied

No matter the cost
I’ll take up my cross
And run to You, run to You
No matter the cost
I’ll take up my cross
And run to You, run to You

This will be my, this will be my prayer
This will be my, this will be my prayer

Leave a Reply

