Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 6: 1 – 6

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 4 – Ecclesiastes 6:1 – 6WK4D4

There is an evil that I have seen under the sun, and it lies heavy on mankind: a man to whom God gives wealth, possessions, and honor, so that he lacks nothing of all that he desires, yet God does not give him power to enjoy them, but a stranger enjoys them. This is vanity; it is a grievous evil. If a man fathers a hundred children and lives many years, so that the days of his years are many, but his soul is not satisfied with life’s good things, and he also has no burial, I say that a stillborn child is better off than he. For it comes in vanity and goes in darkness, and in darkness its name is covered. Moreover, it has not seen the sun or known anything, yet it finds rest rather than he. Even though he should live a thousand years twice over, yet enjoy no good—do not all go to the one place?

S – What a tragedy – someone who God gifts with material possessions and honor, yet he does not enjoy them.  Does God NOT give him the opportunity to enjoy them – or is it the fact that SOMEONE ELSE will?   Either way – Solomon sees it as vanity – as blowing in the wind.  Beyond that even – a grievous evil.  Going on, Solomon states that it would be better to not have been born (stillborn or miscarriage) thank to have many children, live a long life, and yet not be satisfied with what he had.  He finishes to say….  The stillborn and the long living – they both end up in the same place.  They both die.

A – What do we do with this passage?  My NIV Study Bible had an interesting thought – “Comparing verse 2 with 5:19 demonstrates that the ability to enjoy God’s blessings is a bonus – a gift of God, not a right or guarantee.  God call the person who forget this truth a fool  (Luke 12:20)”

Moreover, when God gives someone wealth and possessions, and the ability to enjoy them, to accept their lot and be happy in their toil—this is a gift of God. – Eccl. 5:19

But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul is required of you, and the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ – Luke 12:20

I am still reminded that I am BLESSED with what God gives me.  I know that material possessions will not last, and eventually I, too, will pass along and die.  So – if those possessions are not lasting, then I need to concentrate on what IS LASTING.  Relationships.  People.  Taking THEM with me to meet my Savior.  Bringing them along in their spiritual growth.  Multiplying.  THAT is lasting.  THAT is legacy.  THAT is what I desire.

P – Father God, thank You for all the blessings that You have placed in my life.  Thank You for those that I love, for those who I am getting to know, and for those who have encouraged me in my own spiritual journey.  Help me, now, to be an encourager to those I know.  Help me to build them up, to let them know that they are loved, and to use the time that You allot to me to create a strong foundation of relationships.  May my life be a legacy to those around me.  Work in and through me, so that becomes a reality.

Oceans – Hillsong United – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ao0r4Suj354

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)”
You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Leave a Reply

