Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 5: 8 – 17

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 2 – Ecclesiastes 5:8 – 17  SOAP v. 10-12WK4D2

The Vanity of Wealth and Honor

If you see in a province the oppression of the poor and the violation of justice and righteousness, do not be amazed at the matter, for the high official is watched by a higher, and there are yet higher ones over them.But this is gain for a land in every way: a king committed to cultivated fields.

10 He who loves money will not be satisfied with money, nor he who loves wealth with his income; this also is vanity. 11 When goods increase, they increase who eat them, and what advantage has their owner but to see them with his eyes? 12 Sweet is the sleep of a laborer, whether he eats little or much, but the full stomach of the rich will not let him sleep.

13 There is a grievous evil that I have seen under the sun: riches were kept by their owner to his hurt, 14 and those riches were lost in a bad venture. And he is father of a son, but he has nothing in his hand. 15 As he came from his mother’s womb he shall go again, naked as he came, and shall take nothing for his toil that he may carry away in his hand.16 This also is a grievous evil: just as he came, so shall he go, and what gain is there to him who toils for the wind? 17 Moreover, all his days he eats in darkness in much vexation and sickness and anger.

O – (Concentrating on v. 10-12)  Solomon comes to an understanding here:  if you love money or wealth – you never have enough!  These are fleeting things – money and wealth will pass away.  And – they will not bring satisfaction!  Collections of “stuff” only grow – and what good do they do but allow us to look at them?  He also mentions that one who works hard and well, will sleep well (sweetly), but those who fill themselves excessively will not.

A – I thought of a number of random things here:

  • I was reminded of the video “Madam Blueberry” from the VeggieTales series. She kept going to the “stuff mart” to collect more things, but was never happy.  The collection of “stuff” actually made her tree house fall to the ground!  Her “stuff” was her ruin….
  • How much “stuff” do we really need? I thought that I had cleared out, cleaned out, and de’cluttered before I moved to Indiana, but I am finding out that I STILL have too much “stuff!”  I need to continue to reduce, and simplify my life.  Difficult to do, but needed!
  • How much satisfaction do we really get from accumulating things? I am reading  “Living Well – Spending Less” by Rachel Soukop.  Convicting!   She goes through the story of how she realized that she was spending and collecting – too much.
  • Does shopping and collecting really fill a need? Is there an emptiness that shopping fills?  Does “something new”  REALLY make me feel better?
  • WHERE do I find my true satisfaction? Is it stuff or people  or relationships – or the Lord?  What truly satisfies?

P – Father God, may I find true satisfaction in You today.  As I look around me, I am blessed.  You have given us a home that is comfortable, and such a blessing when we have company over.   Thank You for providing us a home that allows us to share it with our family and church family.  Give us wisdom for how to best use the resources that You have blessed us with to bless others.  Father, may we not have so much that we become greedy or ungrateful.  Help us to continue to simplify and live with just what we need in order to complete the calling that You have given us.  Thank You that we can be satisfied with You – You bring COMPLETE SATISFACTION to us – through Your Son and His death, bringing life everlasting.  Help me to live today in full knowledge and awareness of Your love, which is the ONLY satisfaction that we can have!

 

Hallelujah (Satisfied ) – Gaither Vocal Band – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8Z8NTsHDuo

  1. All my life long I had panted
    For a drink from some clear spring,
    That I hoped would quench the burning
    Of the thirst I felt within.

Refrain:
Hallelujah! I have found Him
Whom my soul so long has craved!
Jesus satisfies my longings,
Through His blood I now am saved.

  1. Feeding on the husks around me,
    Till my strength was almost gone,
    Longed my soul for something better,
    Only still to hunger on.
  2. Poor I was, and sought for riches,
    Something that would satisfy,
    But the dust I gathered round me
    Only mocked my soul’s sad cry.
  3. Well of water, ever springing,
    Bread of life so rich and free,
    Untold wealth that never faileth,
    My Redeemer is to me.
Leave a Reply

