Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 5:1 – 7

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 1 – Ecclesiastes 5:1 – 7 – SOAP v. 4-5WK4D1

 Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. To draw near to listen is better than to offer the sacrifice of fools, for they do not know that they are doing evil.  Be not rash with your mouth, nor let your heart be hasty to utter a word before God, for God is in heaven and you are on earth. Therefore let your words be few. For a dream comes with much business, and a fool’s voice with many words.

When you vow a vow to God, do not delay paying it, for he has no pleasure in fools. Pay what you vow. It is better that you should not vow than that you should vow and not pay. Let not your mouth lead you into sin, and do not say before the messenger that it was a mistake. Why should God be angry at your voice and destroy the work of your hands? For when dreams increase and words grow many, there is vanity; but God is the one you must fear.

O – Solomon now turns his attention to a relationship with God.  It is interesting to see here, after so many instances of exploring the world’s values.  Now – the REAL THING!  He talks about the relationship that we have with an awesome, fearful God.  (not to be afraid of, but in awe of….)  So many things about our attitude in approaching God are seen here…..

  • Guard your steps when going to the house of the Lord – think about what I am doing, where I am going, and not just ritualized “worship” – “Fruitful and acceptable worship begins before it begins.” (Maclaren) (blueletterbible.org)
  • Going to listen (with my heart) is better than going through the motions of “public worship” –  To hear: “Has the double force in Hebrew which it sometimes has in English: to pay attention and to obey. So this saying is close to the famous words of Samuel, ‘to obey (literally to listen) is better than sacrifice’ (1 Samuel 15:22).” (Kidner) (blueletterbible.org)
  • Be careful before saying words or vows hastily – it’s better to say little, and people might think you’re a food, than to say lots – and confirm it! – The thought in this line is probably well represented by the Living Bible: “Just as being too busy gives you nightmares, so being a fool makes you a blabbermouth.” (blueletterbible.org)
  • When making a vow before God (to God),think it through! Don’t make a promise that you are not going to keep! – A commonly overlooked and unappreciated sin among God’s people is the sin of broken vows  – promising things to God and failing to live up to the vow. Those who honor God:
    • – Will not be quick to make vows to God.
    • – Will be serious about fulfilling vows made.
    • – Will regard broken vows as sins to confessed and to be repented of. (blueletterbible.org)
  • Don’t let what I say get me in trouble (rash words before thinking) and then saying “I didn’t mean it!” Once said – the words are out! – “Most certainly, he that fears God need fear nothing else. Well may an upright soul say to Satanhimself, I fear God; and because I fear him, l do not fear thee.” (Clarke) (blueletterbible.org)

A – So – what does all this mean to me??

Oh, I have to be so careful of my attitude in worship, my speech, my thoughts during worship or prayer, even my actions!   Do they reflect going into the presence of a Holy God?   Or, do I let my thoughts wander, thinking about something else?   Am I treating worship as a ritual, or am I giving praise and honor to our great Creator?  Do I prepare my heart, making sure that I am “right” with Him before I go into His presence?  Do I just “go through the motions,” singing the songs, reading the scripture, but not think about what I am saying or singing?  Do I promise in my prayers?   Do I commit to actions, but not follow through?  Or – do I pray empty words?  OH yes, to obey is better than sacrifice!   God desires my heart, my love, my willing obedience.   Not my empty words, or my proud heart.  He desires me – all of me.

P  – Father God – my spirit is willing, but my flesh is weak.  Oh Father, forgive me for those times of empty worship, of wandering thoughts, or unwilling attitude when approaching You.  Father, during this time of “relearning” worship, away from the piano, work within my heart to purify it, to prepare me to worship You in how You desire to be worshiped, and to come to You  in an attitude of a sacrifice of praise.  Renew my heart, teach me to worship You in spirit and in truth.  Father, it IS my desire to honor You, to worship You with all my heart, and to praise You with all that is within me.

“I Give You My Heart” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obi5ZGujiuU

This is my desire to honor You
Lord, with all my heart, I worship You
All I have within me, I give You praise
All that I adore is in You

Lord, I give You my heart
I give You my soul, I live for You alone
Every breath that I take, every moment I’m awake
Lord, have Your way in me

This is my desire to honor You
Lord, with all my heart, I worship You
All I have within me, I give You praise
All that I adore is in You

Lord, I give You my heart
I give You my soul, I live for You alone
Every breath that I take, every moment I’m awake
Lord, have Your way in me

And I will live
And I will live for You
And I will live
And I will live for You

Oh and I will live
And I will live
And I will live for You

Lord, I give You my heart
I give You my soul, I live for You alone
Every breath that I take, every moment I’m awake
Lord, have Your way in me

Have Your way

 

Let my Words Be Few – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqIA_l2ypkE

“Let My Words Be Few”
You are God in heaven
And here am I on earth
So I’ll let my words be few
Jesus, I am so in love with You

And I’ll stand in awe of You, Jesus
Yes, I’ll stand in awe of You
And I’ll let my words be few
Jesus, I am so in love with You

The simplest of all love songs
I want to bring to You, oh yeah
So I’ll let my words be few, hey
Jesus, I am so in love with You

And I’ll stand in awe of You, Jesus
Yes, I’ll stand in awe of You
And I’ll let my words be few
Jesus, I am so in love with You

Leave a Reply

