Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4 –  Ecclesiastes 2:24 – 26  SOAP v. 24-25WK2D4

24 There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God,25 for apart from him who can eat or who can have enjoyment? 26 For to the one who pleases him God has given wisdom and knowledge and joy, but to the sinner he has given the business of gathering and collecting, only to give to one who pleases God. This also is vanity and a striving after wind.

O – Solomon “sort of” changes his tune here.   He mentions God in his pondering.  He thinks that we SHOULD enjoy life, and our work.  BUT, and a huge but, this is from God – because apart from God, we cannot really enjoy our life and our work.  God gives us  wisdom and knowledge and joy – when we please Him.  Sinners, those who don’t know or follow God, their life and “stuff” do not last.  THAT is vanity!  Useless.

A – What I thought of when I read this today was “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”  (Colossians 3:17)  It is only when we have this mindset that we will truly have joy – both in what we have, and in what we do.  I know that when I went to work, intentionally thinking that I was going to minister for Him, that I really found joy, even in difficult days.  And it is true today, even though I am not working.  Apart from Him, I am not content, I am not joyful, I am not satisfied.  Was this where Solomon was ?  Apart from God – he was not content, joyful, or satisfied.  All was vanity, chasing after wind.

P – Father God, thank You for all You have given me.  You have given us a home, a comfortable home to enjoy, to entertain, to rest and refresh.  You have given Paul a job, a ministry that brings satisfaction and challenge.  You have given me ministry within the church, leading and mentoring ladies.  Thank You for the joy that You bring in serving You.  May I always see what I do – and what I have – as from You.   Father, this is my prayer – Now, Lord, I would be Yours alone and live so all might see The strength to follow Your commands could never come from me.  Oh Father, use my ransomed life in any way You choose and let my song forever be my only boast is You.”  Amen.

All I have is Christ – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwGSNv3vK3I

VERSE 1
I once was lost in darkest night
Yet thought I knew the way
The sin that promised joy and life
Had led me to the grave
I had no hope that You would own
A rebel to Your will
And if You had not loved me first
I would refuse You still

VERSE 2
But as I ran my hell-bound race
Indifferent to the cost
You looked upon my helpless state
And led me to the cross
And I beheld God’s love displayed
You suffered in my place
You bore the wrath reserved for me
Now all I know is grace

CHORUS
Hallelujah! All I have is Christ
Hallelujah! Jesus is my life

VERSE 3
Now, Lord, I would be Yours alone
And live so all might see
The strength to follow Your commands
Could never come from me
Oh Father, use my ransomed life
In any way You choose
And let my song forever be
My only boast is You

© 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI)

Leave a Reply

