Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 2:18-19

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 2 – Ecclesiastes 2:18-19  SOAP v. 18-19WK2D2

18 I hated all my toil in which I toil under the sun, seeing that I must leave it to the man who will come after me, 19 and who knows whether he will be wise or a fool? Yet he will be master of all for which I toiled and used my wisdom under the sun. This also is vanity.

O – Solomon hated the fact that he had worked hard – and whatever he was leaving behind would be left to someone else.  He wouldn’t know if the person who he left it to would be wise or foolish.  So – this, too, working hard, is also vanity!

A – What a sad thing – to come to the end of life and not know what your hard work will come to!  Did Solomon not know about eternity – and the importance of sharing NOW the wisdom that God gives?  Did he not have an eternal perspective on his work?  I would like to think that what I have done as a teacher would have eternal value in the lives of my students!  There are students that I led to Christ when I was teaching at the Christian school, or even those that I taught Scripture that we memorized together.  That is eternal!  But, I also hope that the importance of a relationship with Christ was modeled and lived out before them.  I know that there were times that I was so human,  but there were also times of rich discussion and interaction.  Even my time in public school, or in teaching piano, I pray that my students would have seen “something different” in my life – and know that Jesus was living in me.

Now that I am not working, it is different and harder to find those that I would encounter through “work.”  It is neighbors, or children that I interact with through church, or even my own family – spread all over.  It is praying that God will give “opportunities that will glorify Your great name,”  and that I will live the gospel of Your great grace.”   That is my prayer today.

P – Father God, I do offer the work of my hands today – the Bible study that I will lead later on today, the time helping out at the rummage sale, and any encounters that You bring my way.  Father, give me opportunities today to glorify Your great name.  Help me to see the importance of faithfulness in the small tasks that I do, that they, too, will be used to build my character and relationship with You.  Father, order my steps today.  May I go where You send me, and encourage those along the way.  Thank You, Father, for Your loving care, the abundance that You give us, and the blessings that You bestow on us each day.

Before You I Kneel – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gXjiOO661ss

Before You I kneel, my Master and Maker,

To offer the work of my hands.

For this is the day You’ve given Your servant;

I will rejoice and be glad

For the strength I have to live and breathe,

For each skill Your grace has given me,

For the needs and opportunities

That will glorify Your great name.

 

Before You I kneel and ask for Your goodness

To cover the work of my hands.

For patience and peace to shape all my labor,

Your grace for thorns in my path.

Flow within me like a living stream,

Wear away the stones of pride and greed

‘Til Your ways are dwelling deep in me

And a harvest of life is grown.

 

Before You we kneel, our Master and Maker;

Establish the work of our hands.

And order our steps to seek first Your kingdom

In every small and great task.

May we live the gospel of Your grace,

Serve Your purpose in our fleeting days,

Then our lives will bring eternal praise

And all glory to Your great name.

Leave a Reply

