Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 2:12-17

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1 –

WK2D1Ecclesiastes 2:12 – 17  SOAP v. 12-13

12 So I turned to consider wisdom and madness and folly. For what can the man do who comes after the king? Only what has already been done. 13 Then I saw that there is more gain in wisdom than in folly, as there is more gain in light than in darkness. 14 The wise person has his eyes in his head, but the fool walks in darkness. And yet I perceived that the same event happens to all of them. 15 Then I said in my heart, “What happens to the fool will happen to me also. Why then have I been so very wise?” And I said in my heart that this also is vanity. 16 For of the wise as of the fool there is no enduring remembrance, seeing that in the days to come all will have been long forgotten. How the wise dies just like the fool! 17 So I hated life, because what is done under the sun was grievous to me, for all is vanity and a striving after wind.

O – Solomon ALMOST had it here….. that it was better to be wise than foolish.  He realized that the wise man watched out for the ways in his life, but the foolish man walked in darkness.  (“If we clam to have fellowship with him yet walk in darkness, we life and do not live by the truth. – I John 1:6)  He also realized that even after he died, that there was nothing new that someone else would do in his kingdom.  BUT – even the secular, paltry wisdom that he had was better than folly.  But – everyone dies.  And in the end, nothing matters in the guise of secular wisdom.  It is all “vanity!”  In death, the wise man and the foolish man will be remembered the same.   Both die.  And sooner or later, the “monuments” of life will crumble.

A – Oh, I am beginning to see some of the “wisdom” of this world in this book of Ecclesiastes!  I wonder, if sooner or later, people begin to realize that chasing after wealth, and honor, and money, and “stuff” – if it all becomes meaningless, and just “more of the same?”  How sad!

Even wisdom, secular wisdom, has its place in life, but it, too, does not bring true joy or meaning to life.  I think we all have to come to the place where we realize that we DO NOT have all the wisdom in our selves.  It is only God, who in His true wisdom, that gives us meaning in life.  That’s why I love this hymn.  I AM NOT skilled to understand all that God is, and has for me!  BUT I DO KNOW that He DOES have a plan for me, that goes beyond my own life, to His world.  And, in His infinite wisdom, He provided a way of salvation for me!  (I remember thinking that sometimes I think in “fourth grade theology” – that I know what I know, and leave God to interpret and give wisdom for what I do not understand.  It is not a “cop-out”, but a true realization that I DO NOT understand everything!)

Wouldn’t it have been better for Solomon, in all his wisdom, to realize – “Yes, living, dying, let me bring My strength, my solace from this Spring;  That He Who lives to be my King Once died to be my Savior!”  On this Monday, the day after Easter, I can proclaim “He who lives to be my King once died to be my Savior!”  And – the One who sits at His right hand (God’s) is the One who is my Savior!”  Hallelujah!

P – Father God – in Your infinite wisdom, You gave me Your Best – Your one and only Son.  Thank You for sending Him to die for me, and for my sins.  Thank You for Your great wisdom, unsearchable wisdom, perfect wisdom, omniscient wisdom.  Thank You for the plan that You devised for my life – to prosper me and not to harm me, plans that will bring a hope and a future.  Thank You.  Father, give me Your wisdom in the daily decisions of my life, for the discernment that I need for the larger ones, and Your love for those who do not yet know Your saving grace.

I am Not Skilled to Understand (My Savior My God – Aaron Shust) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96P0bwvpbk4

I am Not Skilled to Understand – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkMTRKZYFNE

I am not skilled to understand

What God hath willed, what God hath planned;
I only know that at His right hand
Is One Who is my Savior!

I take Him at His word indeed;
“Christ died for sinners”—this I read;
For in my heart I find a need
Of Him to be my Savior!

That He should leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die,
You count it strange? So once did I,
Before I knew my Savior!

And oh, that He fulfilled may see
The travail of His soul in me,
And with His work contented be,
As I with my dear Savior!

Yes, living, dying, let me bring
My strength, my solace from this Spring;
That He Who lives to be my King
Once died to be my Savior!

Leave a Reply

