Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 2: 9 – 12

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5 – Ecclesiastes 2:9-11  SOAP v. 11WK1D5

All my life long I had panted – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXdkZFl0UmA

So I became great and surpassed all who were before me in Jerusalem. Also my wisdom remained with me. 10 And whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them. I kept my heart from no pleasure, for my heart found pleasure in all my toil, and this was my reward for all my toil.11 Then I considered all that my hands had done and the toil I had expended in doing it, and behold, all was vanity and a striving after wind, and there was nothing to be gained under the sun.

O- The end result of Solomon’s search for pleasure?  He was great – and “better” than all those who were kings before him.  He was wise.  He had whatever pleasures he wanted – what he wanted, he got.  He got pleasure from work – but that pleasure was his reward.   So – he thought about all that he did, the hard work to “get there” – and it was all vanity, striving after wind.

A – How sad to come to the end of life and realize that all the pleasure, all the work, all the striving to be the best – was for naught.  To spend a life – and have nothing of value.  Wanting is a need that is never quenched!  Searching for meaning ends in nothingness.   I want value in my life!  I want it to count!  It is only in Jesus Christ that I can find worth, value, and meaning.  “Hallelujah!  I have found Him whom my soul so long has craved!!”  We sang this song last night at the Maunday Thursday service – it ministered to me.  I had not heard this version of the hymn, but the words just washed over me.  I walked away, knowing that in Jesus, in His blood, in His sacrifice – I have life, true life!

P – Father God, thank You for the satisfaction that can be found in You.  Father, in You is life, true life, life everlasting.  Today, Jesus, on this Good Friday morning, I remember Your sacrifice – for me.  You did not seek honor or glory or pleasure – You gave Yourself.  You did not spend Your life looking for meaning – You KNEW that it was in a relationship with God.  And You gave Yourself for me, so that I could have that same relationship with Him.  Thank You.  Thank You.

  1. All my life long I had panted
    For a draught from some cool spring,
    That I hoped would quench the burning
    Of the thirst I felt within.

Hallelujah! I have found Him
Whom my soul so long has craved!
Jesus satisfies my longings;
Through His life I now am saved.

  1. Feeding on the husks around me,
    Till my strength was almost gone,
    Longed my soul for something better,
    Only still to hunger on.
  2. Poor I was, and sought for riches,
    Something that would satisfy,
    But the dust I gathered round me
    Only mocked my soul’s sad cry.
  3. Well of water, ever springing,
    Bread of life, so rich and free,
    Untold wealth that never faileth,
    My Redeemer is to me.

Chasing After the Wind – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYuF0vRDfyM&list=PLBb5wuYEzY3VjVmo_udlhMmdoTOUwsvwV&index=12  (based on the movie – THE SONG – can be viewed free on Amazon Prime!)

Leave a Reply

