Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ecclesiastes 1:7 -11

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2 – Ecclesiastes 1:7 – 11  SOAP v. 9-10WK1D2

There is Never a Day so dreary –( In the heart He implanteth a Song…) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTrp8GjA3_c

All streams run to the sea,
but the sea is not full;
to the place where the streams flow,
there they flow again.
All things are full of weariness;
a man cannot utter it;
the eye is not satisfied with seeing,
nor the ear filled with hearing.
What has been is what will be,
and what has been done is what will be done,
and there is nothing new under the sun.
10 Is there a thing of which it is said,
“See, this is new”?
It has been already
in the ages before us.
11 There is no remembrance of former things,
nor will there be any remembrance
of later things yet to be
among those who come after.

O – Oh, the hopelessness of life when it has no meaning!  “All things are full of weariness…”   There is no satisfaction in what we do, in what we hear, in what we see – NOTHING is new or exciting.  Things may be “reworked”, but they are not new.  No one will remember us later on, because we haven’t done anything new.  “There is nothing new under the sun.”

A – This is a hard reading!  I can’t imagine life without hope or Christ.  And yes, there are new things.  As I’ve been walking over the past couple of weeks, I have marveled at the new life around me.  I see daffodils and crocii in bloom, daylilies starting to push their greenery up through the cold ground.  I see buds of the tree leaves, swollen and ready to “pop”.  The magnolia trees are in full bloom, white and pink against the bright blue sky.  The dogwood that we moved is ready to bloom soon – the buds are swollen and the leaves are just behind.  How could I say that there is “nothing new under the sun?”  No – I say “Great is thy Faithfulness…. Morning by morning new mercies I see..”  Each day is new, each day is a gift – IF we have Christ.  Otherwise, it is a feeling of dissatisfaction – nothing satisfies the eyes, the ears, the desires of life.

I love this hymn – that states that there is NOTHING that is too difficult, too sorrowful, too dreary – that Jesus cannot overcome in us.  He “implanteth a song.”  He brings a song to my day, joy to my life, and the hope of eternal life with Him.  That is NOT wearisome or frail.  It is new life!  Oh, how grateful I am for all the gifts that He has given me!  And today – the gift of perspective.  The knowledge that in Him, I have life – new life!  Every day, I see that around me – tangible reminders of His love and faithfulness demonstrated in the new life of spring.

P – Father God, thank You for the new life around me – that I can see and experience with each day.  Thank You for the reminder of the new life and new perspective that I have in You.  Keep my heart tender towards You – so I do not become weary or pessimistic.  Father, You are the Creative God, the God of New Life – not only in the physical world around me, but also in my heart.  Father, I know that there are others who do not know life in You – that are weary and dissatisfied.  Help me to share Your love with them – whether it is on my walks, or in the grocery store, or wherever You send me today.

1 There is never a day so dreary,
there is never a night so long,
but the soul that is trusting Jesus
will somewhere find a song.

Refrain:
Wonderful, wonderful Jesus,
in the heart He implanteth a song:
a song of deliverance, of courage, of strength;
in the heart He implanteth a song.

2 There is never a cross so heavy,
there is never a weight of woe,
but that Jesus will help to carry
because He loveth so. [Refrain]

3 There is never a care or burden,
there is never a grief or loss,
but that Jesus in love will lighten
when carried to the cross. [Refrain]

4 There is never a guilty sinner,
there is never a wandering one,
but that God can in mercy pardon
through Jesus Christ, His Son. [Refrain]

Leave a Reply

